We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Theatre District Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #46 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Best Theatre District Hotel”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the past few years. I have stayed in several room types and the cheapest rooms are small. The larger rooms are exceptional. Some have an outdoor terrace which can be a real treat depending on the season. The service at the hotel is exceptional. It is a boutique hotel and since there are a limited number of rooms the ability to upgrade may be limited. That said, I've always been able to change rooms if the first one wasn't to my liking. This is the best luxury hotel in the theatre district.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basic room. The Grand Deluxe and any category above are the best bets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buymovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    172
    65
    28
    25
See reviews for
190
540
62
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Other than the difficulty opening the front door, this hotel was fabulous. The decor is stunning, I explored my room and was impressed with every nook and cranny!! The desk was a nice surprise. The mini bar was great, I didn't actually dig into it but the selection of spirits and snacks was impressive. Even the closets were great, the decor was so beautiful. The bathroom was fabulous, good sized shampoos etc.
The restaurant had a very retro mad-men vibe. The food was absolutely delicious, highly recommend the omelet for lunch, we ate there 3 times in less than 24 hours!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor also has the bar and function room, can be loud..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Chatwal several times in the last year. All of the stays have been pleasant. The rooms are very different: suede and leather, somewhat over the top in a masculine way. The bathrooms are beautiful, but a bit small. Many only have showers.The toilets have all sorts of amazing functions and are probably the best feature of the hotel. The bathroom mirrors have televisions in them. A convenient feature, but the mirrors are a bit distorted for mirror purposes due to this feature. Your view of yourself is not quite like the one in a regular mirror. The lower priced rooms are small. Some rooms have to be entered from the outside which should be told to the customer prior to booking. The rooms are very dark and this can be a bit depressing. The lighting is rather dim. If you like a view or a bright sunny hotel room, this is not the hotel for you. It is in the theater district. Cabs are difficult to find in this area and the doorman had to take me and my luggage half a block from the hotel to find a cab. Nice customer service, and my pedicure in the spa was incredible, but this hotel is makes you feel like you are in London on a cold, rainy day: it is gloomy.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are significantly more comfortable than the lower priced rooms. Lower level rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I frequently visit NYC and have stayed at the majority of the 4/5 star hotels in the Times Square district. The Chatwal was undoubtedly the worst experience I've had. I arrived early and tried to check in. No rooms were ready at that point, which was no problem as I was there before check in time. I returned around 7 pm. The room still was unavailable because, per the staff, the previous people left their luggage behind. I was given a coupon for a free drink. Interestingly enough, a lot of people in the lounge area also had a coupon. In talking to the other patrons, it became quickly apparent that we were all given the line about luggage being left over. I went to dinner and returned. At 9 o'clock the room still wasn't ready. I actually didn't get into the room until 9:45 pm! The room was very small and not the cleanest I've been in; I would say it's more in line with a 4 star hotel. I checked out at 7 am. Definitely not worth the money or frustration!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Ms.Kristen M,

We are disappointed to hear of your room not being ready for check-in until late in the evening.

At The Chatwal a pleasurable arrival experience and timely check-in are certainly a priority for us. We just do not recall any delays in the recent months – and certainly not a situation that affected several guests.

We noticed your stay may have taken place almost a year ago. If this is the case we are profoundly sorry that it is still on your mind and wish we had had an opportunity at an earlier time to address your concerns. We have sent you a message hoping to clarify this incident.

We look forward to hearing back from you and will appreciate an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

With best regards

AXEL FISCHER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed two nights recently on a business trip. The room is very comfortable. One of the few hotel rooms in NYC where I enjoyed sitting in the room and reading a book. Most NYC hotels you just want to sleep in -- this one wins on comfort. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The decor is modern and clean and high end. Definitely will stay again. Staff is outstanding. Always friendly and the phone is answered always by the second or third ring -- that is a huge difference with so many hotels stripping down the staffing. Hotel is immaculately clean and new.

A few noteworthy items -- I thought the room had a few amenities that while almost useless -- were whimsical and fun. Your room comes with an in-room bar, which apart from some good booze -- it has five or six magazines and four or five novels. I really like that high-end and somewhat homey touch. Again, you can stand to be in the room at the Chatwal. I also liked the backgammon set -- had not seen one in a very long time (college!).

Bath was very high end. But no bath-tub for tub goers. The shower was a rainfall gizmo which was nice and a toto heated zooped up toilet seat. There you go.

Room service was great for breakfast on day two -- great eggs and the smootie was superb. One in-room dining note on the burger -- I have ordered room service burgers around the world. This was the rarest "medium rare" burger I have ever received --- really a steak tartare. Too much for me -- go Medium or Medium Well even if you are always a Medium Rare person. If not, you've been warned.

44th Street is a nice street with several good italian restaurants. And for tourists, Times Square is down the street.

The only negative really for me was noise. Being on the 4th floor, for a while there were a few too many sirens. Things calmed down and the sleep quality was excellent.

Recommend for business or for couples.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

One of the best hotel that I have ever stayed at. Staffs were attentive, responsive and careful in every aspect. Art Deco design and details in both rooms and public area are spectacular. General manager, butlers & receptions are all well trained. It was a great experience. Will go back in NO time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Chatwal convinces with super attentive and friendly staff, well-appointed rooms, and a quiet, relaxing atmosphere right next to Times Square. By far the best choice of any hotel nearby, the Chatwal won me over with their total consistency in delivering a great experience. Every time, at any of my frequent stays there, everything was perfect. Notable bar scene and music, and arguably one of the best restaurants in all of NY, The Lambs Club, which serves wonderful breakfast and also works well for business brunch, lunch or dinner, only add further to the convincing package. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeklyTravelerATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan W, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear WeeklyTravelerATL,
Thank you for takign the time to share your feedback about your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectaions. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chatwal in the future.
Sincerely,
The Chatwal Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#68 of 466 in New York City
1,967 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,178 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#21 of 466 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 466 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing