We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #37 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Splendid!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel! The rooms are fantastic with lots of mod cons which make it extra special. Hotel staff fabulous too. It's like a luxurious hideaway from the mayhem of times square . Perfectly located too. Definitely recommend it as a hotel rooms spacious

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michellabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    156
    54
    25
    22
See reviews for
161
498
54
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Chatwal for six nights and I had a good time here. The Hotel is small and very cozy, it is well located right in Times Square (I don´t really enjoy too much Times Square). The service is very personal, and professional, the hotel facilities are good, and you feel quite good staying here. Maybe I was a bit unlucky with the room orientation since at 4-5 am I would hear all the noise from the street every day, either trucks or people screaming to each other.

I booked this hotel through Amex Travel Services and in that kind of rate breakfast is always included. The breakfast takes place at the Lambs Club, lovely room with a fire place, service is very good, just the way they make you present every morning some old school papers in order to be able to have your breakfast is kind of weird.

The best of the best was my room, a super spacious Junior Suite with amazing details, three tv´s (including one in the bathroom). and very very high quality finishes and interior design details. Loved every bit of it.

Overall the hotel is great and if you have to stay in Midtown and don´t mind not staying in a big hotel this would probably be the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkatrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

There are many things good about this luxury hotel, although the overall experience is that it feels that they are trying too hard / overdone. The beds are excellent, and the bathrooms fun (dramatic lighting, heated toilets, excellent toiletries). The breakfast is fabulous. If one gets a reasonable price for the room, it can be a great value. At full price, there may be better locations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleWA206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We travelled to New York for a 4 night sightseeing and Christmas shopping spree on December 5th 2013 and were absolutely buzzing when we were checked into our special suite. After reading all the previous reviews we opted to pay the upgrade and get room 706 the suite with terrace and were very very happy with our choice. The room had so many extras which just made it extra special including; a heated toilet seat, a built in tv in the vanity mirror in the bathroom, the biggest terrace with massive table and chairs on, a very spacious dressing table, slippers, robes, a shower that could fit 10 people in, an amazingly big and well stocked mini bar, a large comfy bed, massive plasma tv on the wall, I could go on but it was honestly amazing, the best thing was we had butler service so when we pressed the butler button he answered straight away and honestly couldn't do enough for us. Ali was also amazing in the concierge and even carried our shopping bags up to our room whilst we went off shopping again!!!!!! You absolutely get what you pay for and if you can afford it I highly recommend you staying in room 706 - it really is one to remember and we are very well travelled. The last day we were shattered and decided to have a trip to the spa, treating ourselves with a facial and a massage - perfect ending to a perfect trip!!!!!!!!! Highly highly recommend the Chatwal! 2 minutes walk from toys r us on Times Square - you honestly couldn't get a better hotel in a better location!!!!!!! We will be back again :)

Room Tip: If you can splash out and want luxury - definitely stay in room 706 - suite with terrace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were absolutely blown away by the beautiful oversized deluxe room we had when we went into the city for my, significant others birthday. It was gorgeous, spacious and the most relaxing automated room we have ever seen. We arrived early in the morning and had brunch in the hotel restaurant, the Lambs club. After having a relaxing brunch we went to see the play Betrayal on 47th St and Broadway which was wonderful. We had great seats, center front in the mezzanine section and really enjoyed the play. We then headed back to the Chatwal to relax and so she could freshen up in our beautiful room and terrace before dinner. The room was so comfortable we we tempted to have dinner served in our room but we had made a reservation in the Lambs Club for dinner so we decided to have our dinner in their beautiful restaurant with wonderful people. Great place to stay while in NYC….

Room Tip: Just work with their wonderful staff and describe what your looking for and they will accommodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed in many luxury collection hotels, starwood hotels and new York hotels. This has got to be one of the worst. The team will make it sound like they do care and send you emails to ask for your requests prior to your arrival. I simply asked for an early check in at noon as I would be flying a long way. Of course, they replied saying that they would try their best to accommodate. I have asked for an early check in many times and 99% of the time they are granted but of course not here! They didn't seem to have a record that I asked for an early check in and to be quite honest, I didn't feel that they even tried to make the early check in happen. The response was that your request could not be guaranteed. I didn't get my room until 4 pm and with my platinum membership, did I get an upgrade ? NOT A CHANCE. Even though on the starwood website, there clearly was a nicer room category available but NOPE, the hotel was completely full according to the hotel. The website is wrong--that's my response. The most basic category room is extremely small and it's definitely not worth $ 650 a night! I felt so unwelcome at the hotel that I wanted to check out but again NOPE, you'll have to pay for your stay as the rate is non refundable.
The staff there are mostly quite pleasant but the management team does not seem to be experienced at dealing with customers or hotel issues in general.
With the platinum amenity, I chose breakfast. As usual, it's the continental breakfast that's included. But at many other properties, you can pay extra to upgrade to a better meal. NOT at this hotel.
I will absolutely not stay at this hotel again. I'll stick with the Le Meridien, W times Square, or W Union Square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BforBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan W, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent stay at The Chatwal New York, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

We continually strive to offer exceptional levels of service and accommodate special requests.

We would appreciate if you allow us the opportunity to discuss your comments further. Our management team can be contacted at ExecutiveOffice@thechatwalny.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Bad front desk staff. Not professional. They need to be more mindful of the type of client they are servicing and provide better and quicker service, but no one cares. If ckin is 4pm, then rooms should be ready at 4pm. Will not return! Usually stay at Mandarin but they were booked. No comparison!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#88 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#32 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Starwood, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing