We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #48 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“loved it!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I arrived from Australia , chose this as my reciprocal club was full,. I always spend my first three nights in this city recovering from the flight before onto family.
Ithe staff was faultless.. Perfect . every attention to detail was given. I felt I had a perfect security blanket beneath me. Loved the decor, the matress, sheets,,I only experienced the lobby and upstairs for drinks but it was perfect.
the bathroom wash quite special.. Just wondered I if tub area should have a handrail. I found it slippery..
I have no hesitation recommending the hotel. enjoy!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room. As I wanted to rest. I had a back room... Very quiet , excellent climate c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    172
    65
    28
    25
See reviews for
189
537
62
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

DO NOT BOOK the PRICELINE "deal" of $370 a night if traveling with more than 2 people. The $370 is only for one queen bed (although not known to the consumer at the time). The hotel will charge $300 per night mark up for another bed. It's not intuitive or reasonable for a double bed option to cost 81% more. They do not allow cots as it's against fire codes. Bottom-line - if you have more than 2 adults, you can not stay in the room you reserve. Pardon the pun, but I don't know how Mgmt can sleep at night with such a scam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Candice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel, a block from Times Square, is a treasure. The rooms are beautiful, nice-sized, and quiet. Located on 44th Street, the hotel is in the middle of everything and within easy walking distance of all theaters. The Chatwal has a beautiful, inviting restaurant, as well as a comfortable bar and lobby area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back, facing a back alley, are somewhat dark. Those overlooking 44th Street would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigband5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonldon
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Chatwal.My husband and my son. It really enjoyed it! The rooms were huge, the food really delicious (could also look locally, is prepared as usa food) and the staff always friendly and helpful. staffs has always many musician friends to guest. The Highlight this Hotel are the nightly jams. cant wait to be beack again and sorry for the roview if its not in time becuase I have not use the Tripadvisor tell this few months a go. But im happy to write about your lovely hospitality even been there for a year ago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jems B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A minute away from times square and the action. The toilet , or The Bog, as we Brits call it was amazing, complete with central heating and built in bidet. The downside to this place is the constant 'tipping opportunities' that soon empties your wallet.The USA is sometimes described by Brits. as "the land of swaying palms"; it didn't take us long to suss out how to play 'dodge the doorman' and 'avoid the bellhop'.Our room also had the biggest 'mini-bar' I've ever seen....but we all know the rules on mini-bars, don't we?

Room Tip: Tip the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at this great hotel for four nights. Location is brilliant as you're just off Times Square but the road is quiet. Staff were really friendly and room superb. Would definitely return!! We had a deluxe double double room. My only one little complaint was they didn't serve free nibbles with the very expensive cocktails!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located and the staff was ok. We stayed 2 nights, we had our room (no 809) next to the stairs exit…when housekeeping & room service entered the floor, they slammed the door loudly…. . It is not nice to be woken up in the middle of the night with the slamming of a door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoviajocontacos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#69 of 466 in New York City
1,950 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#16 of 466 in New York City
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 466 in New York City
1,061 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing