We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome bathroom” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #41 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
morecambe
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Awesome bathroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

A minute away from times square and the action. The toilet , or The Bog, as we Brits call it was amazing, complete with central heating and built in bidet. The downside to this place is the constant 'tipping opportunities' that soon empties your wallet.The USA is sometimes described by Brits. as "the land of swaying palms"; it didn't take us long to suss out how to play 'dodge the doorman' and 'avoid the bellhop'.Our room also had the biggest 'mini-bar' I've ever seen....but we all know the rules on mini-bars, don't we?

Room Tip: Tip the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    160
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
171
507
58
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at this great hotel for four nights. Location is brilliant as you're just off Times Square but the road is quiet. Staff were really friendly and room superb. Would definitely return!! We had a deluxe double double room. My only one little complaint was they didn't serve free nibbles with the very expensive cocktails!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tj4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located and the staff was ok. We stayed 2 nights, we had our room (no 809) next to the stairs exit…when housekeeping & room service entered the floor, they slammed the door loudly…. . It is not nice to be woken up in the middle of the night with the slamming of a door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoviajocontacos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We could not choose better hotel. Excellent place in the middle of Manhattan, few steps from TimeSquare an few minutes to 5th. Luxury and chick. What a beauty, one of the best we had. We spent a beautiful time here, shopping, walking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VlastikAndLenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I sent 4 days at the Chatwal and it was fantastic. The staff was amazing. Nothing could have been better. Our room (1004) was comfortable, roomy and no noise at all. We slept so good each night. The decor is attractive, modern and understated. The Chatwal is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and the best in NYC. You will love the staff. Friendly, helpful, attractive and attentive. What a great stay. Counting the days till we return. Many Many thanks to all at The Chatwal

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, definitely very good if you want to go to the theater or just savour the taste of the city that never sleep. We had a nice room, not that big, but we just had to sleep there...
The bathroom was awesome, even if the japanese warmed toilet was something quite odd.
Most of the personel was kind and friendly. The concierge staff was helpful and was able to book for me good theatre seats
So... Why 4 and not 5? Because the room was so filled with electronic gadgets with many leds that was almost impossible to sleep well. Plus, when you arrive at the hotel after a 9 hrs flight and they say to you that is needed a waiting time of 30/40 min for the room to be ready, you would expect at least a little drink offered... not the suggestion of a stroll in the meantime (we arrived at 3 pm as notified. The 4pm check in policy is a bit odd)
Aldo' have the curtains opened and closed rlectronically wad a real pain, also because had to be donr from the phone...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Extremely good location if you want to stay in New York City next to Times Square without being disturbed by the traffic. High Tech room with top quality of everything and in this case it is really top quality of everything! The only thing missing is tea and coffee making facilities.

My wife´s view was that the design of the room appeals more to men than women, but she still loved it. Hotels in New York are not cheap and this is no exception, however you get top quality at the Chatwal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#107 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#47 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#16 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#24 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#55 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,813 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#96 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing