We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to busy Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #37 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent customer service, spotless rooms with plenty of storage and comfortable bed/bedding. And the shower was the best I've ever experienced! The hotel is in a good location for Times Square, 5th and Madison Avenue shopping, and Central Park. Finding a taxi can take up to 15 minutes and the traffic around the hotel is busy, so set off early for dinner/show reservations.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruffles1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChatwalNY, Guest Relations Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we agree - our showers are pretty hard to beat! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights recently.
Excellent attentive staff. I used the concierge, and he provided a very prompt service.
Rooms are designed well and are finished with good quality items, especially the bathroom which is large and feels expensive. Rooms are dark, but are exceptionally quiet, and the sleep was great.
Many nice small touches like Fiji water at check-in and turndown and umbrellas available at the reception desk and door to use at your leisure (without any suggestion of bean counting in the event you might inadvertently lose it).
Location is very central. Not the trendiest location in the city, but well located for sure.
Price is on high side, but I had a nice experience and there are deals available to make the price more palatable.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's a very expensive small hotel but top notch in practically every regard. Had a King deluxe with a terrace. The terrace is large and worth the money if good weather and if you can get one as they don't have many rooms with them. The room is very nice and well equipped to suit any need tho coffee is downstairs near the lobby and a little strange that staff came by and gave me ice, not sure if there is a machine. Service is excellent, everyone remembers your name and super friendly, trying to assist in anyway they can. I've been to NYC many times and always stay in nice places tho this is the best I've stayed at but also the most expensive. I'll be doing it again.

Room Tip: Love the Terrace! If you can get one. Not many hotels in NYC have balconies or terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Word can't express how good this hotel is. We had a Junior Suite, worth every cent. The house keeping was excellent, couldn't have asked for more. The Desk and in particular, the concierge could not have been more helpfully or pleasant. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade(booked through Magelin Vacations) to a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imadilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChatwalNY, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please feel free to contact our concierge in advance of your next trip, to take care of any reservations you may need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Chatwal is two blocks from Times Square, and that is a negative to me. TS is a mecca for the absurd, the flamboyant and the 'in your face' crowd.
The hotel is an island of calm amidst this chaos. Very friendly staff.
The rooms are great if you are a bat. Extremely dark, small and overdone with technology. The high tech, computerized toilet/bidet did not flush well, the curtains opened on their own at 6:45am and the lighting was very poor.
The two times we needed a cab, the doormen suggested we go to the corner and hail one ourselves...the last time with three pieces of luggage! We found help from the Miilenium Hotel across the street.

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Susansandiego72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great service, location, comfort and style. Try the junior suite, it is wonderful! The decor is clean and modern while being warm and comfortable. The staff will remember your name and see that all that you need is there. The spa is fabulous as well. It is small, but the treatments are perfect! Although the hotel is close to Time Square, it is quiet. The food is great. I really can not say enough good about The Chatwal. We did not find fault with any part of our stay. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank amyh619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed all over the city and The Chatwal is my new favorite. The service levels are unmatched. The quality of the rooms is incredible. Plus the on site spa and restaurant are equal fantastic.

Old school service meets modern day refinement and facilities at this hotel. Our anniversary trip was perfect thanks to the staff. The concierge booked us at two restaurants that were amazing. The staff ran a last minute errand for us to help is make our flight in time. Room service on the terrace in our room was wonderful.

Stay here if you get a chance. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buffalotravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#54 of 469 in New York City
756 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,291 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#52 of 469 in New York City
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#17 of 469 in New York City
353 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#57 of 469 in New York City
1,492 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#74 of 469 in New York City
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $469 - $1,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Agoda, Hotwire, Splitty, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing