We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #46 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fredrikstad
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent from A-Z!

We are very satisfied with our stay. Great location, great staff, and beautiful decor.

Our queenroom was beautiful, and we loved the rainforest shower and the hygenic Toto-toilet, and th tv in the bathroom mirror.

Would stay there over and over again, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a little luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Monsic,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We are delighted to know that you had such a pleasant stay. Thank you for uploading your photos for other reviewers to see.

Should we ever have the opportunity to host you again for a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    172
    65
    28
    25
See reviews for
191
540
62
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you like like a small boutique hotel in the middle of Manhattan this is your place. Just finished a 5 night stay and can not say enough great things about the hotel and staff. The rooms are finished beautifully. The staff always greets you at the door and the housekeeping is perfect. The location is one block from Times Square perfect for the theater. The only down side was the restaurant service but there are great places to eat within a few short blocks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanblinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear ivanblinds,

We truly appreciate this review and the very kind words you have said about our team. We take a tremendous amount of pride in the intimate level of service our guests receive.

It is my hope that you were able to take advantage of the convenient proximity to the Broadway Theatres.

Should we ever have the opportunity to host you for a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Striking in its design, fans of art deco will love it. Gorgeous, well-designed spaces. Impressive service. I e-mailed the hotel prior to arriving to notify the concierge of a package I was expecting. The hotel responded within minutes, confirming the package would be received. And indeed it was. Complimentary wifi, which is a nice touch. Only points of concern: the smaller rooms are indeed cozy. If I weren't traveling solo, I'd opt for something larger. And if you have a room overlooking the courtyard, there's a compressor or HVAC system that you'll probably hear running. Aside from that, very quiet. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevendilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear steven d,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We are excited that you appreciated the Art Deco design that is appointed throughout the entire hotel. As we take a tremendous amount of pride in the level of service our guests receive, we thank you for your kind words about our team.

Should we ever have the opportunity to host you for a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise Christmas gift and I must say it was the best hotel I've stayed in! The staff were really attentive and professional at all times. It was so luxurious crammed full with little details that made the three night stay a bit of heaven! I would love to return again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalvinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Dalvinda,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from The Chatwal NY.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, indulging in the luxurious amenities offered in all our guest rooms.

Should we ever have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Chatwal NY, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pomona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Chatwal could not be better located. Everything is walkable from the location on 44th street between 6th and 7th The staff was also great. But the room is very small. And very high tech. And we did not receive an orientation to the room. So we could not figure out simple things, like turning the lights on and off. We actually never figured out one of the lights so we just unscrewed the lightbulbs every night. On our second day we requested and received an orientation, which was very helpful, so we could used all of the "special features" of the toilet. In case it appears we are completely inept, we are not....the toilet actually had to be reset so that the bidet features would work. But the toilet still malfunctioned twice in our three-day visit so that engineering had to come to reset it. So it was a little too high tech for our tastes. Also, we paid for the terrace, which is completely useless unless you are a smoker. Otherwise you would not want to spend time there since it is close to the HVAC unit so very noisy and no view. Lastly, both bars and the restaurant were completely unavailable beginning at 4pm on one of our nights because the Food Network was using the location. It would have been nice if guests of the hotel were offered a complimentary glass of wine or something for the inconvenience. So overall, given the high cost of rooms in this hotel, even with the great location and great staff, we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Our terrace was basically unusable due to the noise. If you are interested in the terrace (if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear robbie l,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on The Chatwal NY.

The type of experiences you encountered were unusual, as large events in the hotel are rare and it is always our goal to have each guest receive an orientation on the first day of arrival due to the technical elements of the room. We encourage all of our guests to call upon our team with any and all questions regarding the functionality of the room to ensure their stay is enjoyable.

I want to take this opportunity to apologize that the bidet function on your TOTO toilet did not function properly throughout your stay as this is one of the unique features of our bathrooms.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the location of The Chatwal NY in the historic Theatre District and again, we are very grateful for your lovely comments about our team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if there is anything I may be able to assist you with.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had 2 rooms at the Chatwal over Labor Day weekend to enjoy the City and the US Open. I had requested that one of the rooms have 2 beds, and that request was accomodated. If that is important to you, be aware that you may get a handicapped-accessible room. For us that was not a problem. The staff was excellent, welcoming us, introducing us to the Butler and bell staff, and making sure our checking was simple. They were also attentive and helpful throughout the rest of the stay. Our room had a quirk in that you could not turn on/off all the lights from the entry light panel. I hope this will be analyzed and fixed. The room was very comfortable and overall quiet. We faced to street and got some expected street noise, but given the location it wasn't bad. The only problem we had was the WiFi. I had almost no signal in my room and my companions had no signal in their room at the other end of the floor. If you are staying for business you will probably need to plug in to the connection, which I did not try. For a smartphoone or iThing you will have an issue. Otherwise, the staff and room was excellent and we plan on staying here again.

Note that this is not a highrise hotel. It's a very old building (for US standards). You will have no view of anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the street. It will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great reviews, so we booked this hotel for my 50th birthday celebration in New York. We arrived after 24 hours of travel from Auckland, New Zealand to stay for 11 nites, 3rd Oct till 14th Oct. What a superb hotel, right from check in to our entire stay. We had a room on the 8th floor which was large and luxurious and not to mention the very spacious bathroom. Amenities in room,gorgeous Asprey products. Very quiet,no noise. Great location to theatre district and shopping,very convenient. One of my birthday gifts was a hot stone massage treatment at the Elizabeth Arden spa, simply sensational after lugging all those shopping bags around.:-) Lobby bar and the first floor bars,excellent to entertain friends in a gorgeous atmosphere. We will surely highly recommend this hotel to our friends and family visiting New York. We travel frequently and find this hotel among one of the best. Thanks to all staff who in made my special occasion visit, one to remember.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dolly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Dolly D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from The Chatwal NY.

We were honored to have been a part of your milestone birthday celebration. We are excited to know that you enjoyed the various amenities we offer in all our guest rooms, including the Asprey amenities. We are also thrilled to know you had an enjoyable experience in The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden.

Even though it is a long journey, it would be a sincere pleasure to host you again for a return visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#68 of 466 in New York City
1,972 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,180 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#21 of 466 in New York City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 466 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing