We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #44 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just recently stayed for a few nights to celebrate by 30th birthday. When the hotel front desk staff found out it was my birthday, they got us complementary drinks at the bar, and the bar staff got me a plate of lovely desserts for the occasion. My spa service with Olga was amazing. It was a wonderful visit, and we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear amytat,

Thank you for sharing your experience from The Chatwal NY.

We were honored to host you for your 30th birthday celebration. We will look forward to your return visit. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    171
    64
    28
    24
See reviews for
186
535
61
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Booked for my b- day weekend. For the price (although discounted) I must say that the entire experience at the Chatwal exceeded our expectations. It was a 5 star experience. An attentive staff combined with a plush-swanky accommodation and atmosphere that created an exciting yet pampering stay. Lot's of room on our balcony to enjoy champaign in the evenings and selected cigars from near by Nat Sherman. The Lambs Club and the bar on site are a must for at least one evening during your visit. Great live entertainment and we bumped elbows with a few celebs on the way out. Times Square and the shows only a few foot steps away! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. It's worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Stephen T.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from The Chatwal NY. We truly value your time.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience, that you had warm interactions with the staff, and found the atmosphere to be accommodating. We are thrilled that you reserved one of our rooms with a balcony and that you enjoyed a fine cigar on it, and enjoyed the live jazz on our mezzanine level.

We would be honored to host you for a return visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August and were dissapointed for the following reasons:
1)We arrived at 4pm after an 8 hour flight from the UK to be told, 'your room is not ready owing to a late checkout....why don't you expolore NYC and we'll call you'. This is not good enough for a supposed 5 star property, no apology was offered and the hotel never rang us'
2) Our room was tiny, dark and overfilled with technology which did not function properly e.g the curtains did not close electronically
3) staff tried to add charges from another room to our bill at checkout

I understand this hotel is in NYC and boutique, but definately not 5 star in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacomo023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear jacomo023,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your experience at The Chatwal NY. We sincerely value your time.

It is disappointing to read that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Our Superior Guestrooms are considered to be more spacious than comparable rooms in other 5-star hotels in New York City. Boasting the finest amenities available, all of our guest rooms offer a unique and distinguished experience, which cannot be had elsewhere.

At The Chatwal NY, we truly fee that the cornerstone for us to provide the best possible service for our guests is to receive their feedback. We are truly grateful for yours. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your reservation in greater detail. I can be reached via email at lmiller@thechatwalny.com. You may also contact me directly via phone at 212.764.6200 and ask to speak with Lance.

I will look forward to your correspondence.

Cordially,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the Chatwal recently. From the bell boy who took me to my room, to the room cleaners to the front desk staff all excellent. The room (mini suite) was an oasis in NYC with extraordinary quality and style in every way. It doesn't come cheaply but it is worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stiletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear stiletravel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from The Chatwal NY.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to The Great White Way in the future, we would be honored to host you for another visit. If I could ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com .

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a great 3 day stay in late August, travelling as a family with 2 teenage daughters. Room was perfect, a midsize suite made out as two fully functional bedrooms with two full bathrooms. Of course the girls were ecstatic about the mod cons, especially the television embedded in the bathroom mirror and also the multi-functional WC!

We had transferred rom a very disappointing hotel not too far away where we had a great deal but poor everything else and so it was nice to luxuriate here. I had read reviews about the friendly reception staff and must say that Elisabeth lived up to her very high billing!

Any negatives? Maybe only the views from the rooms at the rear which rather depressingly look directly into very dull offices or that buildings even duller rear end!

Room Tip: I imagine that the street facing rooms have a better view and though noisier, there are quieter loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Kunle A,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review.

We were happy to host you and your family for your trip to New York City. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the various high-tech feature incorporated in your room.

We are very grateful for your thoughtful comments about our team members. We take a tremendous amount of pride in the level of intimate service we provide our guests.

I do hope we have the opportunity to host you and your family for a return visit to The Chatwal NY in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have travelled a lot over the past 7 years and this has got to be one of two spectacular hotels we have ever stayed in by far. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. It really was the perfect ending to our holiday..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitton29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Whitton29,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from The Chatwal NY.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that it was a perfect way to end your holiday.

Should we have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Chatwal NY in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the front desk (Elisabeth and her colleagues), to the doormen, concierge and the butlers, the experience at The Chatwal is second to none. All of the amenities of a large hotel in a boutique atmosphere. The bar servers are experts at making any drink. Whether traveling on business or with my family, this place delivers an excellent experience.

Room Tip: All of them are slightly different -- and there really isn't a bad one -- location or otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Steven R,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Chatwal NY.

We sincerely appreciate the thoughtful comments, especially those you wrote about our team.
We are looking forward to your next visit. If there is anything I can accommodate for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#69 of 468 in New York City
1,834 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#123 of 468 in New York City
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,432 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 468 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing