We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #43 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I were visiting NYC for the first time and I have to say staying at this hotel really enhanced our stay. The decor is fab and there is a nice relaxed atmoshphere in the hotel. Our room was a decent size (but am not sure we may have been upgraded) and we loved the fancy loo! The bed was amazing and our room was really quiet (we had asked for this). The location of this hotel is second to none - less than one minute walk to Times Square and most of the sights are within walking distance - we only had to use subway once going to Statute of Liberty. Michael the hotel porter and Bradley on reception were extremely helpful during our stay and deserve a big shout out.
The only downside for us came after we had checked out. We had a late flight and asked if it would be possible for us to have a room to change in before we left for the airport (I would think that this was a reasonable request considering the amount of money we paid to stay here). When we returned from shopping we were told that a changing room was available at the SPA, however, when we went down to the SPA we were asked to wait at the pool area (with our bags). We were disgusted and complained immediately to reception who then allocated a bedroom for us to use. The SPA staff actually wanted us to stand by the pool for 15 mins. Not acceptable to treat guests this way in any star hotel never mind 5 star.
It was unfortunate that this happened as our stay at the hotel, prior to this, was very good.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    164
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
178
512
59
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We live in Brooklyn and just stayed at the Chatwal, redeeming Starwood points for one night to celebrate our anniversary. They upgraded us to a queen suite at check in and even sent up a "happy anniversary" dessert during our stay (though I read about someone else's anniversary champagne on the board... we didn't pay for the room I suppose!). They also graciously let us have a late 4 pm check out, which really enhanced the experience of our stay. Glad to see a Luxury Collection value elite starwood members and those redeeming points for a stay, we didn't feel like second class citizens one bit.

The decor makes you feel like you're in a deluxe cabin on the Orient Express. Amazing art deco fixtures, mirrored everything, suede walls, leather door pulls... very serene and rich and indulgent. The bathrooms are up there with the nicest I've experienced. I really appreciate hotels giving thought to the bathroom being indulgent, I'd much rather have a to-die-for rain shower than extra useless square footage in the bedroom. The toilets have ruined any other toilets for me, and fancy extras like the "invisible Tv in the mirror" are just so cool :) And I'm asking for one of their robes for Christmas.

Some of the high tech gadgetry backfired on them however, i.e., operating electric drapes from the "mission control" digital board didn't work, bidet remote control in our second bathroom didn't work, we couldn't figure out how to keep the radio on.

Service is top notch. Though our butler did give off a "you clearly aren't used to five star hotels" vibe when we were informed that at a 5 star hotel you should give them the champage to chill so they can prepare it properly, opposed to having them bring up a missized ice bucket without knowing the purpose, as he did. the horror! Also, I appreciate good service but would like the option to iron my own shirt opposed to having to send it out for a $15 press, but I'm sure the more typical guest demographic wouldn't expect anything else.

Great special stay, will go back for our next staycation! One of our fav Luxury Collection experiences!

Room Tip: our "courtyard" i.e., alley facing room on the 3rd floor didn't get much natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hg614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram Nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Amazing place. Celebrated a work anniversary in NYC and stayed at The Chatwal. Fantastic staff willing to cater to your every need. Everyone I had any contact with was polite, profesional, and knowledgable. The very modern chair in the hotel room was the most comfortable thing I have ever experienced. Expensive, but worth every penny. Five star hotel with five star staff and attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tysmom1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I travel to NYC frequently for business but had not stayed at the Chatwal until last weekend when my wife and I celebrated our anniversary. While the suite had a goofy layout it was spacious and had two full bathrooms, which is great for our marriage. The Chatwal service was superb and the concierge in particular was extremely helpful. They had a bottle of champagne waiting at check-in, arranged for an in-room couples massage with 20 minutes notice, got us into two hard to access lounges and were overall excellent in every way. A very memorable experience and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekkerJ80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Service was wonderful. Staff was very attentive and polite at all levels.
The Lambs Club prepared a great lunch as well as dinner. Breakfasts were a non event and became boring over a five day stay.

If reliable wifi service is a requirement check before going to see if the problems have been fixed. I could not get a signal to stay up for more than a couple of minutes.

The staff said the problem was being worked on. I expected it would be resolved in a few hours. No change over the entire stay. Very inconvenient. The French Bistro across the street had great signal but you had to go there to get it.

Room Tip: Get the JR suite...not the plain room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlr219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
120 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I will get the few flaws out of the way: yes, the wireless service is not perfect (though it is fine and also complimentary). The gym is a little small with good basic weights and a couple top notch treadmills, one elliptical and one bike.
Now...the WOW:
Kind, eager and excellent service. The average hotel employee has difficulty, in my experience, concealing a degree of sulk and "what am I doing here with these idiots?". Not so at the Chatwal: clearly well trained to appear always pleasant, helpful and also know how to adapt to the needs of hotel guests. Yeah...
The rooms and bathrooms are uber comfortable: amazing beds, easy temperature control, yes...heated toilets -which may be addictive-the best robes and slippers, a great collection of books and magazines, great desks for laptops, a very good offering of drinks and snacks, butler service etc...
Also: great concierge, a heated pool, really good restaurant on site.

My favorite NYC hotel now.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solange72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a nice luxury hotel in a great location. The staff are excellent and try very hard in most cases. However, I thought that I should warn others who intend to use the Internet that there were severe problems for the 6 days that I was there. The wireless connection drops every 5 minutes and its difficult to reconnect, making it sometimes unusable. I have several devices that I have used in numerous hotels, and I checked with other guests, and it was clearly a problem for others as well.

I complained several times to the hotel, but they said the connection was provided by an external service provider, and therefore ducked responsibility. The rooms do have wired connections, but they are not maintained and tested, so mine was not working and I had to ask for another room and cable, and eventually at least got a good wired connection. The good wired speed showed that it was an internal problem with the hotel wireless, not a problem with their provider.

Everything else was what you would expect from a top luxury hotel, but the wireless was not what many would consider acceptable for a top luxury business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing