We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, nice southern hemisphere wine selection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelson Blue

Nelson Blue
Ranked #1,722 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, American, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Financial District
Description: New Zealand inspired cuisine.
San Fran
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent food, nice southern hemisphere wine selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

The appetizers were a good rendition of "Pacific Fusion", they have some nice southern hemisphere wines by the glass, and the kitchen is open late. If you're staying in this neighborhood and need a bit to eat after 11pm, this is definitely a spot worth trying.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    22
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A bit of New Zealand in the heart of New York City at the Nelson Blue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Kia Ora! As they say in New Zealand! It literally means "be well, be healthy" and is translated as an informal "hi" in the Māori Language.

The evening we spent going hither and thither lead us to restaurant row in the neighborhood of South Street Seaport. We ended up at the Nelson Blue after a full day listening to speakers at the New York Times Travel Show. The Nelson Blue is a Gastropub that is moderately priced with authentic New Zealand fare. On the menu you will find grilled squid, lamb skewers with mint sauce, and their ever popular lamb burger. Their New Zealand wine and beer array did not lack in variety. In the summer there is outdoor seating where you can take in a great view of the Brooklyn Bridge. A fun place welcoming tourists looking for a true neighborhood spot to dine that is unique and offers a New Zealand-centric atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hither and Thit... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great Local Find with Kiwi Flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nelson Blue is conveniently located across what is loosely referred to as a "street" in New York from the Best Western Seaside Inn where I was staying. Upon surviving the trek across this cobbled horror of a road, one is treated to modern but relaxed decor and big windows on two sides, making this rather small place feel bigger. The staff is very friendly and the beer good with a mix of local craft beers, imported ales and the obligatory industrial yellow swill. I decided to stay for dinner and was delighted with the perfectly prepared and very tender lamb "pops." The atmosphere was lively without being raucous and the acoustics were surprisingly good. I will definitely return next time I visit New York.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninjaneer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you like Lamb Chops this is your place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great little bar/restaurant along the Seaport. We did the appetizer thing and couldn't stop ordering. If you are looking for a laid back restaurant/bar setting with fantastic food. I would recommend going here. The service was fast and pleasant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guinn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

My friend from New Zealand who lives in the States now wanted to try this on her trip to NY. After all, there are not a whole lot of NZ restaurants in this part of the world.
Location - good. Seaport, convenient to transportation, easy to find.
View - none
Ambiance - bar and grill style. Nothing special, but clean
Service - nothing special. Adequate, but not different from any other bar and grill places that I frequent
Food. Now, it is true that we came on the day when we were digging out from the last major snow storm, so the restaurant was out pretty much of all lamb (except for the pie and burger) and a few other items. Remaining items on the menu were not any different from what one would get elsewhere. They do have a few beers from NZ, yet according to my friend who grew up in Wellington, these beers are not what New Zealanders drink.
In short, if you are in the Seaport area, stop by. Do not go out of your way though to come here.

Helpful?
Thank 4865853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Blue also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nelson Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing