We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth seeing (if your in the area)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charging Bull (Wall Street Bull)

Charging Bull (Wall Street Bull)
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Gilbert and Sullivan to Hamilton Downtown Walking Tour
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth seeing (if your in the area)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you're walking about Wall Street and the financial district pay a little visit this iconic sculpture - it's really quite something and bigger than I had imagined. Like other reviewers have mentioned, it's something many people come and so join them and see what you think for yourselves. It's great for some comedy photos too :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrCuddles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    482
    489
    66
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“The cutest attraction in the city - also the most popular!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Every person coming to New York would like to take his photo with this iconic Bull - and herein lies the speciality of this attraction! Its just a large-sized bronzed bull statue in the financial district but I have always (and I mean always) seen it busy and full...:))) Never have I come across the bull standing alone! Such is the popularity of Mr. Bull. Its considered lucky to be touching the bull and you will see all sorts of funny scenes with people generally having a good time! Going northwards from Battery Park to the WTC site or Wall street, the bull is on the way - so, one really doesn't have to go out of the way to visit it. Don't miss visiting the Bull - you never know - your luck may change for the better!!! :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Now protected by police officer....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Used to be a time when you could take a picture next to this beautiful sculpture, now you need to queue under the police surveillance and the poor bull's an uggly wreath around it's neck.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Newenvies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The bull is iconic, I had to wait 10 min to take a picture, the site is always crowded. Gotta love this bronze master piece in the middle of Wall Street. You can't leave NYC without at least visiting the bull.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jrthormann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's Bull for a reason...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

So, if you've read any of my other reviews, you know that I'm very opinionated, which either works for you, or not. The BULL! Let's start by saying that for most of the last few years, this is the closest that Wall Street gets to a bull market. Really... they should replace the bull, at least temporarily, with a bear to reflect the state of your investments.
As for visiting it, you may find a fence around it which will prevent you from going right up to it, and getting a photo of yourself laughing like a monkey while you rub his balls. I guess tourists must have a different sense of humor as I can't imagine any New Yorker having any interest in touching the balls of a bull statue. Regarding the fence... it went up when Occupy Wall Street was in the area. Not that anyone from Occupy, or anyone else for that matter, ever threatened Mr. Bull. Nor could you really damage a 7,000 lb. piece of bronze. I certainly would not try to drive a car into it! So the City pays cops to protect it day and night; even though the local community board unanimously passed a resolution in protest, calling the restrictions a potentially hazardous intrusion, a social militarization and an overtime scam for the NYPD. Now the fence is occasionally removed... hard to say when they decide it's necessary to protect Mr. Bull and when he's safe on his own. So, I guess if you still want send a photo to your friends and family as you caress the bull's balls, you can take a chance that you will be allowed. Otherwise, you'll just have to take a photo and fantasize about it. Maybe tourists should have a demonstration protesting the restrictions?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrBill53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charging Bull (Wall Street Bull) also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Charging Bull (Wall Street Bull)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing