We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accomodation!”
Review of 710 Guest Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
710 Guest Suites
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accomodation!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days at the end of August after a trip of 2 weeks to Florida in Suite 3

We were met at the apartment by Michael who cannot do enough to help when you arrive providing his mobile telephone no for queries, along with a complete run down of the apartment and the surrounding area.

The apartment is well stocked, dishwasher, washer/dryer - complimentary bottle of wine - what more could you ask for!! As other people have said you do hear some noise from the people above - but no more than any other apartment or hotel you will stay in. It was no problem to us on our trip.

The area is completely safe, though if you do come home on the subway after midnight there will be people hanging around as they do in every city we've ever travelled too. They mean no harm but dont be surprised if they shout out when you walk past.

Subway less than a minute walk away, supermarket less than 10 mins. Local delivery's of take out were fab - plenty of information again provided by Michael and also the taxi service he suggested were brilliant. But we used the subway most of the time only needing the taxi to get us to a wedding on time.

Special mention to Tracy for all her help. She kept our cases until our transport arrived to take us to the airport and was as super helpful as Michael was.

All in all - fantastic apartment, lovely location, super helpful people - would highly recommend to anyone. Hopefully we will be back to stay again should we get back to NYC.

Room Tip: Suite 3 has the day bed on the sun terrace - lovely touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanandAndrewF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
21
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location was great, 1 minute to the subway and then ~15 to downtown.
Apartment was clean, kitchen was well stocked, ironing board a welcome find too.
Beds were comfortable, however the noise coming through makeshift surround in the window for the A/C unit was substantial on more than one evening.

We will stay here again when we visit NYC again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Perfect location in Harlem in the garden suite 50 m from the subway at 145th St, where the express train for lower Manhattan stops, and close to supermarkets, Starbucks etc.
Lovely and charming apartment for 3 persons, where we stayed with our 2 year old son. The apartment is at ground level with windows facing into a private garden in the bagyard making one feel completely private and safe. We felt very safe in the area too.
Very recommendable, especially for a family visiting New York as tourists, and we would definitely stay here again. However, for families with babies and strollers, be advised that most subway stations in New York (such as 145th) do not have elevators.
Perfect host in Michael with his recommendations for New York and Harlem for restaurants, walking tours and so on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved 710 Suites! We stayed there for 1 week in July 2013. Our appartement nr. 3 was very bright and a lovely place to stay after a day in the city. The daybed outside was perfect for having an afternoon nap. Be sure to visit The Apollo theater for an amateurnight. It's really amazing! The neigbourhood is great, a lot of things are happening in the strebers, families sitting out on The plavement. There are good restaurants nearby, and a supermarkt just a stroll away. And a very good groverie store (fairmont) 15 minuten away.
Michael is a great and nice host. We would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natasjaverwoerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
323 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Suite 3 for one week end of June. Everything around it was fantastic. Starting by the day when we arrived, tired after a long trip from Europe, we welcome by Tracy that got our appartment ready earlier that standard check-in time so that we could arrange our things get ready for the city. She gave us a lot of useful information about the subwaz and our way around the neighborhood. Then the owner Michael completed the information with some local tips for restaurants and things to do around the appt. The appt is well stock with all the utensils you might need if you would like to selfcater. It even has a complementary wine bottle. Also it is very nicely decorated and spacious. The balcony is fantastic for spring or summer. We had breakfast there everyday.

With the express subway lines you are in columbus circle in something like 12 minutes, so it is very convenient. We use the subway extensively, and we could get to anywhere and from anywhere from the appt door.

Neighborhood is perfectly safe. We walked home from another subway line three blocks away and we did not feel any uneasyness.

We tried one of Michael`s recommendation for dinner in Harlem and it was a fantastic pizza!

Also, Michael is very attentive and responsive on the phone. Answers to any sms question within minutes and he is checking up that u are good and feeling comfortable.

We couldn`t recommend the place more, we would definetively go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As this was our 4th trip to New York, we were looking for a place to stay that was out of midtown, and away from all the same'o same'o hotels. 710 Guest Suites came to my attention. At first, like most people I would imagine, I was very unsure about the location but I researched for hours and found that Harlem no longer has the unsafe stigma it once had. As a matter of fact it is incredibly historic and some of the architecture I'm sure would not be found anywhere else in New York! We felt safe at all times, as a matter of fact we felt like we were in amongst a community of people who all look out for each other! Whilst the location may still bother some people, if you were wanting to feel like you have REALLY experienced New York, give these apartments a try. As other reviews have said, the apartment we stayed in (suite 2 duplex) was incredibly spacious, amazingly top notch decor and the subway is a 3 minute stroll, and 15 to 20 mins subway express to Time Square. But what these apartments have that no other hotel would ever have is Michael the owner. He met us at the door, fresh flowers were located throughout the apartment, bottle of wine and glasses at the ready and he spent so much time with us filling us in on all the little out of the way places to go in his beloved Harlem. He loves his neighbourhood and it shows. He was always a phone call away, and couldn't do enough for us. You will be in good hands staying at 710 Guest Suites!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family stayed 4 nights at Suite3, 710 Guest Suites.
We just loved this place. It's spacious, clean and well decorated with outside breakfast area.
The owner, Michael was very friendly, helpful- provided local maps with nice restaurants, coffee places etc.
The neigbourhood are nice, safe place at night as well.
This apartment is just 30 seconds from Subway station.
I definately will stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#46 of 468 in New York City
239 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
600 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#365 of 468 in New York City
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#243 of 468 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 710 Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 710 Guest Suites

Property: 710 Guest Suites
Address: 710 Saint Nicholas Ave, at 145th St, New York City, NY 10031-4002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 162 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing