We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still under construction”

Ellis Island Immigration Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower...
Ranked #55 of 1,112 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still under construction”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The museum was only in October 2013 reopened.
Most of the rooms are still closed.
The available exhibition are nice and informative.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank R56-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,304
    662
    254
    84
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Despite the bitterly cold weather, we decided to take the ferry across to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Islands. Visiting the Ellis Island Immigration Museum was definitely worth our time. Even the attention of our 10-year old twins was captured (for most of our time there anyway). It's a self-directed audio tour, which is perfect for families with young kids. Glad we made the effort.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CassHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't go during busy season.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I had been looking forward to visiting Ellis Island for years. Don't go until it is completely finished re-opening. The entire experience was a horror, beginning to end. Only 30% of the museum is open; one exhibit and one movie is open. The audio guide is unhelpful if you have a prior knowledge of the history. The worst part of the entire experience are statue cruises, the primary to get to and from the island. The security line took 30 minutes. We did not get off the boat at the Statue of Liberty and only got off for Ellis island. It took more than an hour of waiting in line to get back on a boat to take us back to New York. Under no circumstance would I recommend this. Stay in your room or do anything else. Note: if you decide to go, don't, but if you do, skip the hour plus line for tickets and use your phone to purchase tickets and use the PDF version of the tickets. This is not advertised anywhere on the website.

Helpful?
3 Thank VigorousVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting but busy”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is quite interesting, probably more so if you're american. I can't really recommend it for small kids but for people with an interest in social history it's worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Hanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Living museum”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As you walk around this museum you can appreciate the pathway taken by thousands, with their stories brought to life through the audio experience and written scripts and pictures that guide the way. A very well presented museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellis Island Immigration Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ellis Island Immigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing