We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid for any price”
Review of Raffles Bistro

Raffles Bistro
Ranked #222 of 476 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Avoid for any price”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We are New York residents who visited the place for dinner. The waiters behaviour was a warning sign I should have payed more attention to from the beginning. He was patronizing and was sure about that we were tourists from a far away underdeveloped country and treated us like such. My husband ordered a scampi dish, but as they were out of scampi ( it was the day after the storm) they agreed to make the same dish with chicken instead. I ordered chicken piccata. When the dishes arrived we knew we made a biiiig mistake. Spagetti with some unidentifiable sauce with three small stripes of chicken, was what the scampi dish for 22 dollars turned into. I got exactly the same spagetti to my piccata. The taste? A Tv dinner is 100 times better. But the worst was yet to come. When the check arrived they still wanted to charge the 22 dollars for the scampi/ chicken dish. We complained, so they changed the price to 18 dollars. Then we realized that they automatically put on an 18%(!!!) service charge. You can put service charge on the check if the party is 6 people or larger. We were 3. We always tip between 15-20% but, we do not want anyone to decide for us to do so. Especially when we are far from satified. They reducted the tip from the check in the end, but by that time we were really upset. Oh yes one more thing. They served our friends bier in a wineglas. In New York! Midtown! So my recommendation, avoid it! Waste of money! Walk down to 3:rd avenue, what is full of nice small restaurants med authentic cousine from all over the world!

Helpful?
Thank Gablietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    143
    125
    69
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Food was excellent wiith a varied menu.........the service was a little slow but otherwise I would go back again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“reasonable late food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was staying at the Waldorf during the UN General Assembly when NY is nuts, and Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama were also in the area. NYPD were thick and 49th and 50th Streets were closed. It was hard to get food in or near the Waldorf after a late meeting, so at 10 pm, I walked over to Raffles. It was like an oasis and I would have probably liked anything, but this was just right. Under similar circumstances, go for it. Nice staff and they all have a story!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Even the sandwich was tasteless...”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped by Raffles, which was close to our hotel, for a quick lunch. The daily lunch special -- soup and a sandwich with a soda -- was $18! Yes, $18 dollars. A bit pricey for a small bowl of "canned" chicken soup and a tuna melt with tasteless tuna and no cheese (or was that a glimpse of Velveeta I spyed on the unadorned slice of bread?). Don't bother. Far better to get something from a street cart than from Raffles' uninspired daily lunch special menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachgirlplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A one try only place for me”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was staying at the Lexington Hotel for business so the location was ideal and seemed to be the better choice for my colleague and I for the pre-work day breakfast. Service was good, food came fast. Food was ok, but the price caught me off-guard. Two omlettes, one coffee, one tea, and the automatically added 18% tip (deserved for our waiter) was $50.75. Also this place was a cash-only operation..... Which considering the numbers for two wasn't expected either.

Like others I appreciate this is NYC, but that was a little much for me. Dunkin Donuts was the order for day 2, and quite honestly the DD coffee and muffin was far better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank borisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raffles Bistro also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Raffles Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing