We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate NY Food & Culture Tour”

New York Food Tours
Ranked #26 of 100 Food & Drink in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New York Food Tours takes tourists and locals alike to experience the colorful history, unique diverse culture and progressive development of New York City through food. We offer several theme-based food tours. Our Food Tours are focused on: * Historic Neighborhoods * Ethnic Cultures and Cooking * Ethnic Vegetarian Foods
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Ultimate NY Food & Culture Tour”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip! Our guide, Candy, was adorable and fun. For a low price you get 2 hours of fun and amazing food - the best deal around! Only wish we had time to take another tour on our trip! Don't plan lunch after all the goodies you will have - instead work it off with more walking on the nearby HighLine! Thanks again Candy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLchicago0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    42
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I would strongly discourage going on a food tour with this company. After our tour guide showed up 15 minutes late, she took us to a place that had been recently closed down due to health code violations and then rushed us through the tour so she could get back and ready for the next one. She did not seem knowledgeable and it was a disappointing tour to say the least!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodtour, General Manager at New York Food Tours, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Holly, As our conversation via email, you mentioned that your group enjoyed the food tastings at our tour. But, you still requested a full refund. As we explained, it was very difficult for us to do so since we have expended on the food which you ate and enjoyed.

Additionally, our tour guide generally wouldn't be late especially for 15 mins long. We’ll confront this with the guide.

As for Famous Joe’s Pizza, it is one of the best pizzerias in the city. If you take a food tour in the neighborhood, over 90% guides/companies would take you to Famous Joe’s for a slice of authentic New York style pizza. The city was shutting down businesses for extremely minor reasons during the two weeks of national/federal shutdown. In fact, Famous Joe’s fixed up the issue almost instantly, reopened the day of our tour.

We apologize for the shutdown. We wish we could have more control out of it.

Best, NY Food Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ultimate NY Food & Culture Tour”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I recently went on the Ultimate NY Food and Culture Tour which was led by Candy and we enjoyed the tour a lot. Candy was informative, pleasant, and genuinely curious about the members of the group. We visited 7 different stops and really enjoyed everything we ate. The walking was minimal and at a very leisurely pace. It was also easy to work with the NY Food Tours to schedule the tour for the group.

The Tour could have been better if the food stops were more evenly spaced out. During the first 1 - 1.5 hours, we only ate twice. Then during the last 45 minutes, we crammed in the last 5 stops. That's a lot of food to eat in a short period of time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lc217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything chocolate.......”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a lovely morning with our guide Candy walking through the streets starting outside City Bakery and then moving through different parts of Greenwich Village. Candy was very knowledgable and shared lots of information about the sites and the bakeries we visited. It did seem a little like a tour with a few tastings rather than focused mainly on the food. The biggest disappointment, particularly for the real chocoholic in the party was that we were promised Everything Chocolate but not everything was chocolate. It was tasty but not the chocolate we were looking forward to. As an interesting tour it was very enjoyable and I would recommend it but just beware that if chocolate is what you are after this is not really the one for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodtour, General Manager at New York Food Tours, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Cambotraveller, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our guide and the tour. Our guide also enjoyed your company and participation. Everything Chocolate Tour focuses on a wide variety of dessert tastings not strictly chocolate but chocolate favored desserts. As our tour description mentions "Everything Chocolate, with tastings of only the finest chocolate drinks, desserts, and pastries in both Authentic and Exotic Culinary Worlds!" We apologize for the confusion. Best, NY Food Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great Eating through China Town”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Candy, our tour guide was awesome, really it's true, I'm not making it up. She told me some things about the area and Chinese culture I wasn't aware of. This is the 3rd type of tour like this I've taken in various cities and this one ranked up there with them all. We even went back before heading to the airport to get a bahn-mi to take home with us. Thanks Candy for showing us where to get the authentic Asian goodies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to New York Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing