We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel, but let down by the restaurant staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crosby Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #4 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, but let down by the restaurant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in May and it is a lovely, lovely hotel. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, gorgeous and spacious bathrooms, extremely helpful and attentative concierge as well as being in a perfect location. The one let down, was the restaurant staff and the length of time it took on each occasion we went for something to eat to get our food. Staff were snooty at times, and we left feeling they cared more for the guest who weren't staying at the hotel. We stayed in a Deluxe Junior Suite and although lovely and spacious, I wouldn't call it a suite. Having said that, this hotel is a great find, and we would love to come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    92
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
119
346
54
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a lovely, cozy boutique hotel in the SoHo neighborhood of NYC. We come to Manhattan once a year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are cozy without being cramped, with beautiful linens and towels and a well appointed bathroom. And the rooms are QUIET, which is saying something in Manhattan. The staff are uniformly helpful, especially Concierge Chris, who invariably goes out of his way to assist us each time we see him. The lounge is an intimate sitting area with bar service if you'd like. Our one quibble: the music in the restaurant is generally too loud and too hip for us at breakfast. However, the staff are generally willing at least to lower the volume while we are there. We recommend the hotel highly -- we will return in several weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous place for one week. The rooms are beautyfully designed and spacious. We chose a deluxe junior suite which offered a fantastic view of Soho.
In addition, concierge was very professional - thank you very much!

Room Tip: Deluxe junior suites --> better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

First visited 2 years ago and said we would be back. We have just returned. And we will return once more. This is possibly our favorite hotel of all time. It is amazingly well run. You are truly looked after and it just gets better and better. The food is great - the best English breakfast I have had in a long while. THE best shower anywhere and a bar that just works with really interesting bar staff - thanks Monya for making our stay so comfortable and organising the best cocktails. You must go to the bar if you are staying in the hotel, or indeed if you are not.
We love New York. We love this area. We love the hotel. You will too.
Thank you to all - we returned refreshed thanks to your care

Room Tip: Just go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshirebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great location if you want to go out in downtown nyc and shop in soho. British decor feeling hotel that is dog friendly with great service, restaurant and bar. Small-ish rooms but nice baths and overall pleasant experience. But not cheap!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingunraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is one of the best New York hotels I have stayed in. Fabulous location, comfortable pillow and bed. Room and bathroom very spacious for New York standards. Decor is very edgy. Kit Kemp is so very talented. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very good. I will definately be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Crosby street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255103linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stunning Decor . Friendly Staff . Very Comfy beds . I was travelling solo and encountered a very rude limo driver from JFK to The Hotel , the doormen came to my aid immediately , helped with Check in and made me feel , like i was home . I have stayed there 3 times now , even tho its a bit on the Expensive side .... it's worth it .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#2 of 463 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 463 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Property: Crosby Street Hotel
Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing