We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #5 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is one of the best New York hotels I have stayed in. Fabulous location, comfortable pillow and bed. Room and bathroom very spacious for New York standards. Decor is very edgy. Kit Kemp is so very talented. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very good. I will definately be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Crosby street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255103linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    96
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
123
368
59
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stunning Decor . Friendly Staff . Very Comfy beds . I was travelling solo and encountered a very rude limo driver from JFK to The Hotel , the doormen came to my aid immediately , helped with Check in and made me feel , like i was home . I have stayed there 3 times now , even tho its a bit on the Expensive side .... it's worth it .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We checked in on Sunday 20th April and left on Tuesday 22nd. From start to end, the stay was brilliant. We had a stunning 'luxury' king room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel looking out over the flag flying above the entrance. The room was so comfortable and spacious for NYC. We enjoyed the Sunday night film club - with a 3 course dinner first followed by The Secret Life of Walter Mitty in the basement cinema after. The dinner was mostly tasty - the experimental dessert (flavours of grape) was a little bit on the bizarre side. The cocktail menu could be a bit more varied. The service and friendliness of all the staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Crosby Street Hotel, the staff and the service are perfect, welcoming and warm. The hotel is very nicely decorated, both the rooms and the public areas, including a very nice terrace. Our room, on the 11th floor had a beautiful view on Soho. The gym is good. Food at dinner and breakfast were very good, sophisticated but not over sophisticated.
If you want to stay in Soho, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is one of the few hotels in NY that feels like it was designed by hoteliers that actually care about their guests. Many others have nice touches or work well with their limitations but it is clear they are working around limitations. We started our trip at another hotel and upon spontaneously extending our trip moved here and are so glad we did. The other hotel was located in Greenwich Village and was a nice hotel - well appointed, reasonably nice staff, etc. But moving here we felt like we graduated to a real hotel. Service was spectacular, close to everything you want and yet don't feel like you are in the middle of it either, design is tastefully done and everything feels authentic. I will never stay anywhere else in NY!

Room Tip: How do I undo the Swimming Pool? No pool but a cool theater in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA USA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Crosby Street Hotel is set on a quiet, cobblestone street just off the most exciting Soho shopping streets. The lobby and public spaces feature a brilliant combination of modern and ethnic art. I think the dining room is one of the most thrilling and inviting I've ever seen in a hotel. My room was very pleasant and faced a back street. Design and fixtures all immaculate and well-chosen.

The Crosby Street is my favorite New York City hotel. Super location, a wondrous sense of design and decor that combines hip London (it's owned by an English firm) with energetic New York. It completely exceeded my expectations and also felt fairly priced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bretthodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I love this hotel because it is a stylish, sumptuous urban retreat, a treat for the senses, but does not sacrifice functionality. The hotel is ever ready for a photo-shoot but they have also considered how everything feels and works. The beds and furniture are comfy, the showers super strong, plenty of light, perfect alarm clock, lighted closets, solid doors, fabric padded walls for quiet, an inventive and a delicious room service menu that satisfies both adults and kids. The location is perfect for a fun trip to NYC, right in the heart of SOHO and right around the corner from a couple different subway lines that put the theaters, midtown, etc. just a few minutes away. The visual appearance of every nook and cranny has been well considered. Not sure if they have just renovated after being open several years but almost everything is in pristine condition. The lobby, an art and garden oasis, even smells divine. All of the employees we encountered seemed like invested professionals who provided excellent service.

Caveats - the views are mostly of the very close neighboring buildings, the best/only place to enjoy your room service is sitting on the floor at the coffee table (junior suite connected to deluxe room), some rookie mistakes like an alarm clock left on from previous guests or missing utensils from room service. I'd also add that the junior suite, while significantly more expensive than the next best room category, provides, as far as I can see from our two rooms, a larger and lit built-in closet vs. an armoire, a larger bathroom, and a slightly larger room. I'm not sure there is a consistent price to value relationship though I would certainly opt again for the junior suite on future visits.

Overall, this hotel definitely elevates your entire experience in NYC. As others have noted, it is a very special place.

Room Tip: The deluxe room provides almost as much as the junior suite for far less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 466 in New York City
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 466 in New York City
161 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 466 in New York City
454 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Property: Crosby Street Hotel
Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing