We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectable hotel with the best showers ever...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #5 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delectable hotel with the best showers ever...!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We split our stay in NY between The Standard and The Crosby Street Hotel. As much as we were disappointed by The Standard, we were bowled over by The Crosby Street Hotel. Everything you would expect to find in a good hotel is doubly true for this one: their staff members are charming, attentive and very competent, often going out of their way to help you out. The hotel is a visual feast - a wonderful, quirky mix of styles, with witty touches everywhere. No featureless white spaces here, nor over-the-top gleaming, velvety opulence. Instead the space feels light, airy and very elegant. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the rooms were one of my favourite features, as were the showers. I was disappointed to find out that their standard rooms had no baths - I love a good bath (I think some of the suites may have baths). The reason is sound (it's a green hotel), but I forgave them completely when I tried their showers. Best shower I have had in any hotel, anywhere. We didn't try the food in the hotel as we prefer to venture out for meals, but enjoyed drinks in the bar and in the lovely walled garden/ terrace. If you do decide to eat outside the hotel, you are perfectly located - countless good restaurants within walking distance. Our stay at the Crosby Street Hotel was an absolute pleasure, marred only by the fact that it came to an end and we had to go home. Sniff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JezebelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    96
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
123
368
59
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hotel is fantastic and in a great neighborhood for food, shopping and people watching. Love the hotel but when we requested a bath tub, we were told hotel is green and no tubs. Still remains our favorite NYC hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 534Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Recently stayed at the Crosby for a short stay in NYC for fashion week. Loved everything about it from the vibe which is casual elegance at its finest to the special touches that make this hotel my home away from home. I am a stickler for cleanliness, scent, visual, service and food. Even the other guests at the hotel were charming, worldly and a pleasure to ride an elevator with! All earn an A+ for this discerning traveler. Additionally, the concierge staff was extremely helpful and professional even having recently purchased Broadway tickets delivered to us at the restaurant where we were having lunch the day of the show so that we did not have to go to will call.

Room Tip: As the hotel does not provide connecting rooms it is important for larger parties to request rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodLifeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

It is hard to find fault with this sumptuous yet low-key hotel on a quiet cobbled street in Soho. Our weekend stay, to celebrate a wedding anniversary, was flawless from start to finish. From reception staff who bent over backwards to make the weekend special for us, to a lavish and delicious breakfast served in our room, everything was utter comfort and peace. Wonderful power showers, heavenly beds, breakfast served on gorgeous bone china.

Just one small criticism. Every time we wanted to access internet we had to phone down to reception - slightly irksome. But a tiny caveat in a sea of praise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lagarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Crosby Street Hotel is gorgeous and the service is excellent. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Great views from the large windows on the upper floors. Have stayed at two other hotels from this group in London and they were both just as lovely.
The guest areas and the back garden at the hotel are perfect for lounging or grabbing a drink with friends. The food in the restaurant is very good, especially the breakfast.
Great location in the middle of Soho, if you like the neighborhood you will love the hotel's central location. Not much of a scene at the hotel in the evening, but if you are looking for a peaceful retreat amidst the bustle of Soho this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with large loft windows have great views of Soho. Really charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 77wheretonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at the Crosby St Hotel for a week in November 2011. Unbeatable location, lovely quirky decor, comfortable rooms (I particularly liked the floor to ceiling windows that you can open), cool bar and restaurant, good food, loved the guest lounge with honour system drinks - great place to relax after a hard day's shopping. But what sets this hotel apart is the amazing staff, particularly the Reception and Concierge guys who were so helpful with restaurant bookings, sightseeing advice ... they even found us a dentist who was open on a public holiday ! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and have already done so, and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manahttan, NY
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Pricey? Yes.
Worth it? YES!

A charming, high end boutique hotel, owned by the Brits and this is their first venture in the 'colonies.'
Location, location, location: The Crosby is nestled into a small cobble stoned street, within walking distance of everywhere you want to go in SoHo and the surrounding NoHo,LoLita and more.

The rooms are beautiful , comfortable with upmarket touches such as Frette towels and linens.Bathrooms are granite, and the stall shower is about the best there is. Service is friendly and professional. There is an elegant lounge, for hotel guests only, where you can read, relax order a drink or light meal.

I would go back in a New York minute.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good; My room faced Crosby Street, but it was very, very quiet. It mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manhattan10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 466 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 466 in New York City
171 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 466 in New York City
455 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Property: Crosby Street Hotel
Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing