We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cool boutique hotel in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #72 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool boutique hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic if you are wanting a helpful buzzy concierge, comfy room and amazing shower with good products!!!

The best thing for us (20 something couple with friends also staying in New York) was the staff. They reserved us tables at gorgeous reataurants and helped with bar recommendations. As this was our first trip to New York, we found that extremely helpful.

People have commented on the dark hallways, not a problem for us. From the lift to room is about 5 m! Even if it was pitch black you could find your room. It wasnt though, and we thought it added to the cool ambience of the hotel. Standard room was a good size considering how much time you spend in it and furnishings were good quality and room was clean.

Token for free drink at the bar next door was a nice touch. We went on our second day to use it (there was no limit to which drink you could order).

Overall a good choice of hotel for a trip to New York. All the big stores around the corner and central park practically on the doorstep. Oh, and quality meats (a restaurant the hotel recommended-yum!) is 5 mins walk!

Helpful?
Thank little-wrigglers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear little-wrigglers,

We are thrilled you found Chambers to your liking and very pleased you utilized our fine concierges.

Thank you for your all around kind words; I will certainly share them with our entire staff. They will very much appreciate the recognition and we very much appreciate your sharing your good times with TripAdvisor.

Please let me know if I am able to be of any assistance in booking your next trip to New York and Chambers.

Yours kindly,

General Manager
Chambers Hotel
15 west 56th Street
New York, NY 10019

212 204 7710

ahawkins@chambershotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    155
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
80
217
44
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hip but not pretentious, three blocks from MoMA and FAO Schwartz, Playstations in the stylish spacious rooms, fantastic dining and drinks at Ma Peche. (check out the Little Kings & corn whiskey happy hour). And competitively priced. We've stayed several times, and are welcomed like returning family.

Room Tip: Fitness center at nearby NY Fitness Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Anthony F.

We are always delighted to have you with us.

Thanks for the shout out.

Ansell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly , attentive staff , great rooms and a wonderful location . This really is a marvellous hotel for a visit to New York . A great restaurant too and a real feel for the city . The restaurant has an interesting and exciting menu -a real metropolitan feel to the place. The bar was every European feels a New York bar should be . So close to the theatres , Central Park and the museums . A great find . I would certainly go back and recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a real experience of the city and hope that it won't be too long before we're back again .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Michael R.

We are delighted you found Chambers; we love New York and are indeed very lucky to be placed smack in its center, with all Central Park as our back yard.

Please do come again and feel free to contact me directly that I may assist you with reservations and general man about town sort of things.

Thank you again for your kind words and taking the time to share them with Trip Advisor.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Somehow this hotel manages to feel hopelessly hip and utterly friendly at the same time. Our room was lovely, quiet and dark when we needed that (we were allowed to check in early after arriving on the red-eye. ) Amazing shower. The staff was helpful and personable, and the location perfect. I hope the prices stay in my budget-I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

Many thanks on your kind words and thank you, too, for sharing them.
Oh, those red-eyes!
We would love to have you again and again and again...., please let me know and I will be happy to assist you with all your arrangements.
Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 3 times in past 6 months, and generally enjoyed it.
PROS:
Location is great for shopping and going to museums and Central Park. Most staff are very friendly. Shower has great water pressure but I always flood the bathroom because there's no shower door. Room size is okay for one person, like the colors.

CONS:
My colleague, my boyfriend and myself all find that there's too little space in bathrrom to put stuff like vanity bag. One time I dropped my hairbrush in the toilet :( Standard rooms are mostly quite dark without much light coming in. Food selection is quite limited, though in room dining portions are quite big (one time I had a HUGE plate of baby carrots which took me 2 days to finish). House cleaning can do better job - a few days ago I found my icecream cup still on the table the next day after room cleaning and they forgot to refill cotton pads. Not a big issue though. While reception staff are mostly super friendly, when I previously called the reception before arrival checking for info, staff voice was robotic and sounded annoyed. My email to reception also had no reply. Booking of car transfer also was not recorded in system.

Overall it's a nice little hotel with its charm. Just hope management could maintain great service consistently online or offline.

Helpful?
Thank tangmay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Tangmay,

Thank you very kindly for writing and I am indeed quite sorry for your lackluster visit. It is vital we are able to see Chambers through the eyes of others and especially through those of our loyal guests.

Please contact me directly and let me know when your next visit brings you to New York and I will be certain you are well cared, i.e., we have got additional storage for your toiletries, I can suggest rooms where light is in abundance and I will ensure you understand the entire Ma Peche menu is available for lunch and dinner, thereby offering you the full selection from our stellar restaurant.

Once again, thank you so very much for your forthright comments and I truly hope I have the opportunity to meet you very soon.

Kind regards,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Comfortable, spacious rooms and bathrooms, interesting decor, unfailingly friendly and helpful staff, unbeatable location. What's not to love??! An added quirky perk - every room we've had at the Chambers has offered a view of nearby rooftops where you can see several of those fascinating wooden water towers that I think are unique to New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EminMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear EminMaine,

Thank you for loving Chambers. We cannot disagree. Those water towers, ubiquitous as they are, are now made by only two companies. Nice work, if you can get it.

Enjoy what is likely a quiet snowed in morning in Brunswick.

Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Three great days with friends enjoying the perfect location for shopping, dinning and seeing a couple of shows. Small hotel and very comfortable. Easy to get in and out with out wasting time waiting for busy elevators. Service was fantastic as well as the recommendations of the newest and best places to dine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#52 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#182 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#93 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#94 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#70 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing