We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Zero complaints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #87 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Slc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Zero complaints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Somehow this hotel manages to feel hopelessly hip and utterly friendly at the same time. Our room was lovely, quiet and dark when we needed that (we were allowed to check in early after arriving on the red-eye. ) Amazing shower. The staff was helpful and personable, and the location perfect. I hope the prices stay in my budget-I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

Many thanks on your kind words and thank you, too, for sharing them.
Oh, those red-eyes!
We would love to have you again and again and again...., please let me know and I will be happy to assist you with all your arrangements.
Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    159
    49
    22
    12
See reviews for
84
222
46
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 3 times in past 6 months, and generally enjoyed it.
PROS:
Location is great for shopping and going to museums and Central Park. Most staff are very friendly. Shower has great water pressure but I always flood the bathroom because there's no shower door. Room size is okay for one person, like the colors.

CONS:
My colleague, my boyfriend and myself all find that there's too little space in bathrrom to put stuff like vanity bag. One time I dropped my hairbrush in the toilet :( Standard rooms are mostly quite dark without much light coming in. Food selection is quite limited, though in room dining portions are quite big (one time I had a HUGE plate of baby carrots which took me 2 days to finish). House cleaning can do better job - a few days ago I found my icecream cup still on the table the next day after room cleaning and they forgot to refill cotton pads. Not a big issue though. While reception staff are mostly super friendly, when I previously called the reception before arrival checking for info, staff voice was robotic and sounded annoyed. My email to reception also had no reply. Booking of car transfer also was not recorded in system.

Overall it's a nice little hotel with its charm. Just hope management could maintain great service consistently online or offline.

Helpful?
Thank tangmay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Tangmay,

Thank you very kindly for writing and I am indeed quite sorry for your lackluster visit. It is vital we are able to see Chambers through the eyes of others and especially through those of our loyal guests.

Please contact me directly and let me know when your next visit brings you to New York and I will be certain you are well cared, i.e., we have got additional storage for your toiletries, I can suggest rooms where light is in abundance and I will ensure you understand the entire Ma Peche menu is available for lunch and dinner, thereby offering you the full selection from our stellar restaurant.

Once again, thank you so very much for your forthright comments and I truly hope I have the opportunity to meet you very soon.

Kind regards,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Comfortable, spacious rooms and bathrooms, interesting decor, unfailingly friendly and helpful staff, unbeatable location. What's not to love??! An added quirky perk - every room we've had at the Chambers has offered a view of nearby rooftops where you can see several of those fascinating wooden water towers that I think are unique to New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EminMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear EminMaine,

Thank you for loving Chambers. We cannot disagree. Those water towers, ubiquitous as they are, are now made by only two companies. Nice work, if you can get it.

Enjoy what is likely a quiet snowed in morning in Brunswick.

Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Three great days with friends enjoying the perfect location for shopping, dinning and seeing a couple of shows. Small hotel and very comfortable. Easy to get in and out with out wasting time waiting for busy elevators. Service was fantastic as well as the recommendations of the newest and best places to dine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Only stayed one night for NYE and the staff were accommodating with my early check in request - only had to wait 15-20min for a room despite checking in a few hours early. The standard room is decent size with comfy bed and modern tv but no view. Fairly small bathroom but the rain shower has the best water pressure of all hotels I've stayed. There were intermittent issues with wifi but the front desk staff were quick to advise once resolved. Special mention should go to the ladies at the front desk who were friendly & helpful at all times during the stay.

Chambers have a handy reciprocal arrangement with local fitness centre which includes use of their indoor heated swimming pool. Also the hotel is connected to both Momofuku Milk bar and Má Pêche for tasty treats. I ate brekky at Má Pêche which was enjoyable but it would be great to have the option of selecting more than one item with the full breakfast.

Only a couple of small negatives - the doorman seems to be overworked as guests often seemed to help each other out with heavy luggage and opening the front doors. Also the room temp was ridiculously hot so it was necessary to open the window to let in some cool air in the middle of winter!

Overall a short but enjoyable stay in a convenient midtown location. Would happily return in future if rates stay consistently good value for NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

As we live only an hour from NYC, we do not often stay in a hotel when in the city but our overnight stay at the Chambers was a gift. We were greeted at the door and shown to our room by a very pleasant man. The hotel is somewhat spartan in its decor, almost like it is not too sure of its identity with very modern architectural elements yet retro style radio and conventional key entry to the rooms. The heat was a bit inconsistent and very dry. The rainshower was great with super water pressure if a bit noisy. Also, if your room faces the back of the hotel the generators on the nearby roofs can be a bit loud, then again, you are in the city so get used to it. If all you are looking for is a nice clean, no frills hotel that is reasonably priced in a midtown location then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear CTreviewer,
We think a trip down to the city should be a relaxing and unhurried thing and so were very glad to know you planned an overnight and thrilled you choose Chambers. We’ve deliberately chosen to keep the aesthetic simple and straightforward as a counterpoint to the hustle and bustle of New York, as well as to marry the vibe of downtown loft living with the luxury of an uptown townhouse; ergo, cashmere blankets, boiled wool ottomans, leather desk blotters. Additionally, we have a few whimsical touches to bring a bit of levity.
As for the sound of our shower heads, that is simply a function of the rushing water that makes our showers so fantastic as to folks never wanting to get out.
We do hope to see you again and I would be delighted to handle your booking personally and take you on a tour of our art work, as each hallway has its own site specific art installation.
Kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right off the glamorous 5th Ave. and there are plenty of places to eat and a 24-hour Duane Reade drugstore nearby. This is a small boutique hotel with a creative flair.

PROS: friendly service, excellent valet service, strong rainhead shower, full-length mirror, wi-fi, cozy sitting area on 2nd floor
CONS: very small hotel, dark hallways, small bathroom, window doesn't open on lower floors

I liked their scroll-up writing pad and color pencils on the desks but flip-flop slippers were a bit uncomfortable for us. The hallway is really narrow and small that you can basically hear your neighbors coming and going. It's not a luxury hotel where you feel pampered and probably best suits couples or adults who want a trendy 4-star hotel in a great location. The on-site restaurant, Ma Peche, is popular and has a nice vibe but their lunch menu is very unique.

Room Tip: Get a high floor if you want to open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elianajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Justj1218
Thank you for taking your time to review Chambers and to share your thoughts with Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate it.
We are indeed a small hotel, with only seven rooms per floor. If you contact me before your next visit, and I certainly hope that you will, I will be only too happy to ensure you have an upper floor room with windows that open wide (the lower floors are locked for security, this being a big city, and while we like all our neighbors we take our guests’ safety very seriously). We also have corner rooms, our Deluxe Queens, that have two sets of windows, either south and east or south and west.
Until next we see you, safe travels.
Kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#46 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#67 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#181 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing