We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chambers Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$162
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$162
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$207
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$212
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$188
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$221
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$139
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
392
188
58
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
188
58
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsma pechemilk barcentral parkboutique hotelnew yorkrain showertrump towercorner king roomfifth avenuebottled watersmall hotelbath productsbasic roomroom servicegreat boutiquegreat amenitiesturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 679 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just stayed at Chambers for a long weekend with my wife and friends who had their own room. The staff are a great asset to this hotel and the guys on the door are super friendly. Free drink on arrival was taken a couple of days in to our stay and was extended to champagne, cocktails or what ever your fancy. Nice touch and served by great friendly bar staff.
Room size is adequate for a major city hotel, and as other reviews have stated, the shower is excellent. The location inbetween 5th & 6th avenues on 56th is perfect. We were lucky to be there for "black friday" shopping after thanksgiving and the short walk to 5th Avenue made for a pleasurable first evening in NYC.
I would definately be re-booking for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Phil,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review; it is greatly appreciated. We are always delighted to show our guests what a great and friendly city New York is and to help give it a manageable handle.
Please let us know when you plan to return, you are surely welcome to contact me directly, and we will take fine care of you once again.
Kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for a week on our first visit to the Big Apple.

LOCATION:
The hotel is perfectly located on 56th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue and is walking distance from Central Park, the Rockefeller Centre and most of the well known shoppings stores in Manhattan. In addition, there are plenty of places to eat within a two block radius, and a few supermarkets and pharmacies thrown in for good measure. The 57th Street station (F line mtero) is about three minutes walk from the front door of the hotel and opens up the whole of Manhattan, Brooklyn and beyond if you are happy travelling by metro (which we did a lot and found very convenient and cheap).

THE ROOM:
The hotel itself is very hip. We had a corner room on a higher floor and found the room to be of a very good size. Our room was a Deluxe Queen and so had a shower but no bath. The shower is one of the best I have had anywhere in the world. Hot and very powerful,but does have a tendency to flood the bathroom as the sheer volume of water coming out of the shower overwhelms the hole draining it in the floor. Strangely we found no shower gel in the shower which we though was a bit odd. The bed and mattress are very comfortable and we had good nights sleep throughout our stay. We stayed in a few nights and found plenty to watch on the cable TV. There are lots of small quaint features in the room which make this feel more like an apartment than a hotel. For a start the doors are opened with normal metal door keys, and there is no keycard slot when you walk in to the room to activate all the electrics. The light fittings and power points are all very retro and allude to the history of this building. The desk and chair are very functional if you want to get some work done. This is aided by the complimentary WiFi which we used a lot. The views of Manhattan and the Rockefeller complex from our room was absolutely amazing, day and night, and really made us feel we were right in the thick of things.

SERVICE:
The front of desk staff are very friendly and competent, and special mention must go to Kevin who managed to secure us some tickets for Skyfall which we watched at the AMC Lincoln Centre on our last night. Thank you Kevin. The rest of the staff were equally good and our every request was tended to promptly and efficiently. We didn't use housekeeping much, but did find on one occassion that when we had left early morning and returned late afternoon the room had still not been cleaned.

FOOD:
We didn't eat at Ma Peche, the in house restaurant located on the ground and basement floors, but it seemed to be very busy most nights. I did venture down to the milkbar on the ground floor one morning. The food here is very rich and heavy, but will keep you going all day. It's mainly milkshakes and cakes/pies.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Chambers and felt that it was fairly good value for money for this part of Manhattan. If I had to come back to this part of New York again, then I would most defintely consider staying here again. If you are coming to New York for the first time then I would say this is a perfect location and a great hotel to consider.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear im76,

Yours is a wonderfully thoughtful and straight forward review and we are very grateful for you choosing to share it with all.

I am very pleased you found Chambers and you took one of my favorite rooms; I love the corner views and can sit in the easy chair and look out at New York for hours.

Our showers are fine, too and I am certain you would enjoy our deep Japanese soaking tubs on your next visit, which we hope will be soon (we’ll have a gel soap waiting for you).

Please do let me know when next you plan a trip to New York and we can ensure you are where you want to be.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lots positive to report about 'Chambers' - superb location, spacious, stylish rooms and extraordinarily helpful and friendly staff. However, it falls down in a few areas. Bathrooms without plugs in the sinks (so wasteful), ill-fitting shower doors which lead to flood alerts, dilatory room-cleaning (twice we left our room mid-morning and returned late afternoon to find house-keeping hadn't visited), and a very odd, short room service menu. For the prices charged it really needs to do better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Ctephen,

Thank you kindly for all of your insight. It is so important for us to not only pat ourselves on the back for praise received, but to also address any grievances. This helps us provide the ultimate level of service.

As we know your preferences we hope to make your next stay at Chambers a great one. We have noted your profile so the water pressure will be adjusted in your room and housekeeping visits will be tailored to your specific needs. I am also happy to announce that our room service menu has grown since your last stay.

Please do contact me directly when visiting NYC. I will take care of your reservation personally.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just stayed for the second time at the Chambers Hotel in NYC. It is a boutique hotel without the attitude. The staff are wonderful. The rooms are quite spacious for New York. And I love the Red Flower bath products. Almost worth the cost of the room. Finally, you can't beat the location. It is close to everything - 5th Avenue, Times Square and subways to downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Bostonkeb

Thank you for returning to Chambers and for sharing your experience. Perhaps on your 3rd visit we can share our backyard with you, all 843 acres of it. There is the skating rink, Tavern on the Green is being redone, carriage rides (which sound ridiculous, but are really quite charming) or a snowy walk in the gloaming as the lights come up on the city.

I’ll let Yael of Red Flower know how much you like her products and give you directions to her store, so please let me know when next you plan a visit to New York and Chambers.

I’ll surely, too, let all the folks who make it happen know that you appreciate them.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a very nice boutique hotel of ~65 rooms in a fabulous mid-town location a few steps off 5th Avenue -- the corner at 56th St where Harry Winston sits -- that kind of fabulous. There are no facilities outside the room and lobby and lounge but that's better than it sounds. They are connected to a small restaurant that provides room service, and all the food is unusual and well-done. The rooms have as claimed "a downtown vibe". Mine was relatively large, comfortable, quirky/fun, with a big bathroom, robes, nice bed, etc. Wifi is free. And the staff is quite outgoing, well-trained and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyricskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Lyricskipper,

We are delighted you found us. Please come back soon and let me know. I’ll be certain to book you on different floors so that you will be able to see all the hall way installations

In the meantime, keep Maine in good hands.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews