We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast for the price”

38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant
Ranked #8,945 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Greek
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good breakfast for the price”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had breakfast here three times while staying at the Refinery Hotel across the street. The breakfast was fine - just your basic eggs, bacon, etc. My husband had the pancakes one time and the maple syrup was terrible though. I'm not sure what it was. Plus one morning it was really cold in the restaurant and while we asked a few times for the heat to be turned up, it never was. We made a comment to the manager/owner as we were leaving and she just laughed. Oh well, we ate breakfast the last morning at our hotel, and it was fabulous.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jtwo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
taoal
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Across from the Americana Inn”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Found this nice diner while looking for a fan for our room, vowed to come to breakfast the next morning, we did and were not disappointed at all, great service and quality food, the bread was amazing with flavor and texture, the male attended to evey need we had, even to turn of the tv that was stuck with a bad signal. He turned it off fast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No... Just no”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner and would never return.
We were the only people in the diner and no one came in the whole time we were there.
Service was horrible he wrote our order on a iPhone. When I asked for a milkshake he came me half a cup full of whipped cream and the rest milkshake. He never asked me if I wanted cream then chose to drink the remaining milkshake himself at the counter.
He has blaring hardcore metal music on the tv.
We ordered the Philly cheese steak which was dry and not tasty at all. I had the fried chicken burger with colslaw. Well it had no coleslaw at all.
Food was rubbish and overpriced for what u get . Service was poor. Would never return.
I'm honestly scard I will get food positioning after it

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Standard deli”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a very reasonable breakfast. The food was very good and plentiful. Not a fancy place but the food was good and the price was excellent.

Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drpoirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean & quiet, but that's it”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

You figure you cannot go wrong with a place that serves breakfast all day, but you can. While the place is very clean and quiet, both our meals were cold when served.

The place was not crowded, because we were there at an off time. While waiting for our food, we saw a family walk out/not order food.

If you are looking for a fast snack or breakfast, I would try the food court at the Manhattan Mall or Penn Station, money better spent and lots of choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to 38th Street Coffee Shop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing