We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harlem Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place, love the complimentary breakfast delicatessen and pastries
The kitchen is convenient and the beds are perfect sized for a place in NY. The housekeeping was wonderful; the owner was such a charming man
The location is great-- a short walk to the subway and Central Park

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sexyinsouciance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

It looked so promising, but was not. The room was so small i had to move my bag to get out the door, the place was noisy, the room was so stuffy but with the air-conditioning you could not think for the noise. Then there was the noise from the bathroom next door, not very pleasant. I rang the owner to try to get an upgrade after the desk clerk could not assist but after 4 calls, 4 hours and now reply I left. Some of the other rooms maybe nicer but not where I was. I have stayed in B & B's all over the world and this was by far the worst.

Room Tip: Don't ever get the the single room - its next to the bathroom, has no windows and is the size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRIVATEER62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I do recommend Harlem B&B. It was very clean, very reasonable. I would definitely stay there again. As long as you know that it is a shared bathroom, enjoy the considerate service and all this b&b has to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Harlem Bed and Breakfast. The room was great, very clean, with our own sink, fridge, stove top and microwave (if I remember correctly about the microwave). The shared bathroom was fine, close to our room and we never had to wait to use it. In fact when both of us wanted to shower at the same time one of us used the bathroom on the other floor and we still didn't have to wait. The beds were oddly short, which was fine for me as I am 5'2" but it would be a problem for anybody tallish, for example, I would not recommend my 5'11" sister stay here for this reason alone.

We felt really safe in this part of Harlem, it is very convenient, close to the subway, close to Central Park. We walked downtown several times from this place (which was quite the walk but we enjoy walking).

The service was sometimes great (amazing actually, super helpful staff) and other times not so great. Some of the staff is more helpful then others. The wifi was sometimes off so we would have to ask the staff to reset it. But other wise it was fine. We left our stuff here the last day after we checked out and that was fine, we picked it up when we were ready to leave NYC.

Harlem is charming, we adored it! Gentlemen wishing us good morning and holding doors open for us. But if you stray into different parts you may have a less pleasant experience so be aware of where you are going.

It has a hostel feeling when you walk in as there is no living room or homely feeling that you often get with a Bed and Breakfast, but I believe this has more to do with the layout of Harlem Bed Brown Stones. Hostels do not have such nice rooms, private fridges and stoves, pretty decent linens.

We would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WuSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. I keep coming back for a reason.1- The place is very well priced. 2- The place is super clean. 3- The breakfast (and food throughout the day) is excellent. 4-The pastries are so nice. 5- The owner and staff are extremely helpful. 6- The neighborhood is fantastic. So full of history and on the doorstep of the centre of Manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and, thanks to the staff, we had a good stay. The accommodations were OK. The mattress was terribly lumpy -- I'd have a spring pop up and wake me up every soon often -- our room had a tall ceiling and didn't have enough light, the faucet was drippy, and we had no hot water the first morning--fixed thanks to one staff person. Each day, I had to ask to have the Internet rebooted. But the main problem -- we left earlier in the day and with little light, my husband left a pouch. I have been trying since our stay (end of April) for it. Several phone calls have told us that the pouch was found and it's on its way -- to where??

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisF311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights here recently, and it was, on the whole, a pleasant time. We were sleeping in a room with two double beds and a very loud air conditioner, though one did get used to this. The bathroom was a little bit dirty at one point, but I don't think that was the fault of the establishment. Close to a few great restaurants - Shirley's soul food and the Corner Social both north on Lenox street were awesome. It's easy to get the subway to downtown too, and a close walk to Central Park.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haaames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#242 of 470 in New York City
725 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,394 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 470 in New York City
1,098 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#140 of 470 in New York City
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlem Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlem Bed and Breakfast

Address: 54 W 120th St, New York City, NY 10027-6308
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $200 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Harlem Bed and Breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Harlem Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlem b&b
Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing