We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

You can't beat the location of the Flatiron. It is close to the subway, coffee shops, great restaurants and Madison Square Park. Make sure to visit the Shake Shack in Madison Square Park. The front desk and bellman staff were outstanding, especially Leo and Alex. They were friendly and helpful. The negatives of the Flatiron are the noise from the night club in the lobby. We were in a corner double Queen room on the 5th floor directly above the night club. The noise was unbearable on Friday and Saturday nights. We could hear the music and people screaming and yelling until 3 AM. Not much sleep was gotten those first 2 nights. On Sunday - Tuesday the noise was much more tolerable - it might have been that the crowd was much smaller and less obnoxious at the nightclub. Since we had one of the largest rooms available(corner queen double) it was a comfortable size for a family of 4. The room was well worn (furniture and carpet with multiple stains). The bathroom had a tub/ shower and was clean. Despite the hotel being in an ideal location and having a friendly staff, I would not recommend it for a family. They appear to be marketing to a young crowd who likes to party and does not care about getting much sleep on their vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    261
    108
    48
    43
See reviews for
177
196
40
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a five day trip to NYC. It is very pretty and comfortable rooms, but tge staff is very friendly and helpful. Every time we asked for a restaurant suggestion or advice about how best to go somewhere they were so happy to help.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well situated hotel near the Flatiron building with easy access to exploring Manhattan. The room was tiny but functional, clothes drawers were in the base of the bed and there was limited hanging space. The bathroom was also very small, but the shower, which leaked occasionally, was good size. At night this was a buzzy hotel with music in the bar downstairs and sometimes partygoers running through the hotel corridors shouting. Not sure if the hotel tries to cater for people seeking accommodation or those who like to party. The staff were very friendly. We probably wouldn’t stay there again, but if you decide to, ask for the room on higher floors, which is what we did, so you won’t be bothered by the noise from the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCorrea, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear DavJo12,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel for your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and feedback. We are looking to improve certain aspects of the hotel and we invite you back in the near future for a more enhanced experience.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Crystal Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape coral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great time at the Flatiron Hotel. The rooms are a little small but that didn't matter because you don't spend much time in it since there is so much going on around it. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. There was not much closet space and the PH Bar was only open to Hotel guests 1 night out of the 5 we stayed there due to private parties going on. The downstairs bar/lounge with live music was always packed and energetic and a lot of fun. Parking is a little expensive, but "That's NY" the Hotel does give you a voucher if you park it at the garage down the street. The room also needed a couple of minor repairs (shower handle, digital room notification and no signal on a few channels on TV) BUT, Without a doubt, I would stay there again, but next time ask for a bigger room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGonzalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Beach, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Went for a two night stay. The room was great. Loved the shower. The best part of the motel is the great staff. Kendra, Benz, Leo, and Angelo were so helpful and made us feel so welcome. I would stay in the Flatiron again!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask not to stay over the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel was fabulous! Such a chic boutique!!The room was pretty, clean, comfortable, loved the shower, the TV in the mirror. Absolutely adored the staff. Benz checked us in and was so cute and happy. He loved our NC accent. Everyone ...Samantha, Leo, Angelo, Kendra were all so kind, sweet and sosososo helpful to make our visit to the big city such a great memory!!
We will tell everyone to stay at this hotel. We walked to Times Square, had cocktails at the revolving restaurant at the Marriott Marquis, saw so many sites. Maysville next door was perfect for lunch.
The Toshi's nightclub right as you walk in to the hotel had a wonderful band...great fun music and so many singers in the crowd that joined in. Such fun!! Josh, the host was so kind and attentive.
We were 4 ladies from NC in New York and had a ball!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level due to the nightclub being on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalCorrea, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Pam S,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel for your recent ladies trip to NY. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was able to create a memorable experience for you ladies. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank You

Sincerely,

Crystal Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed here while visiting Times Square. It's a 20-minute stroll from the Broadway theaters, but a treat if you have the time. It is so refreshing to get out of crowded Times Square. I liked the neighborhood with a great variety of food and fun import stores.

I liked this hotel. The staff was very nice and friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor and seemed pretty quiet for an urban hotel. I could not hear any sounds from surrounding rooms and I know there were guests booked in them.

The bed was really clean and comfortable. There were a few stains on the carpet, but that didn't take away from the comfort. The HVAC worked well and I never felt too hot or too cold. I liked the room and hallway decor. The bathroom had a great shower stall and TV! It felt safe. The only suggestion I have is for the hotel to add a few more seats for waiting check-in guests. There is one sofa and the guests currently at the check out counter tend to put their luggage on the one place to sit.

I think we got a good price for the room. I booked it online and I forget where I got the deal. I would definitely stay here again. In fact, I have a 20th anniversary coming up...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masstravelerwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#287 of 467 in New York City
2,152 reviews
The Evelyn
#283 of 467 in New York City
2,087 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#368 of 467 in New York City
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#147 of 467 in New York City
3,054 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 467 in New York City
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing