We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desk Clerk Literally Gave Me His Tie”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #387 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very comfortable, clean, user friendly hotel in a central location. Though the neighborhood is a business area that is largely quiet and dark at night, but for a few trendy restaurants and bars, it is easy to catch a cab on Broadway a few feet away. The room was very nicely furnished with more storage than most rooms, an extremely comfortable bed, and appealing modern design. But nothing beats the staff: I had forgotten to pack a tie and mentioned it to the desk clerk who proceeded to loosen his tie and hand it to me. While I didn't take it -- it was a very nice tie, by the way! -- I will never forget the gesture!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Flatiron Hotel. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent service and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 808 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

The staff at Flatiron Hotel were warm, hospitable and willing to go the extra mile to help us feel welcome in the City; and also to address an issue that did occur. I really appreciated this! Also, the rooms are very nice by NYC standards.

Room Tip: I preferred the King size bed room on the end of the building. Just a bit more square footage and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30DMS107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location and friendly staff.bellhop very helpful.explained how everything worked in our room when bringing up our luggage. Room clean and very comfortable.nice big windows.easy access to everything needed.staff very helpful in finding us places to eat.would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenkauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Main positive points of the hotel:
1) position
2) rooms cleaned very well day by day
3) courtesy of the staff
4) events calendar > every night the hotel organize something

Negative points:
1) noise if you have a room in the first floor

All in all my experience in Flatiron was excellent; for sure this is not the best hotel in the city but I think it's a good value for money solution.

Room Tip: choose the room in the last floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViaggiatoreVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Distinctive rooms. Friendly staff. Lobby performance space.

You'll get some NYC street sounds -- the subway rumble, the occasional sirens -- but I couldn't beat this location.

I took a chance on this, and I'm glad I did. I'll be back.

Room Tip: My sixth-floor room didn't have the reverb from the lobby club's music.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I needed a place to stay in NYC for a couple of weeks, but just could not stomach paying $500 a night. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked based on the scores and price at the time. Good choice. The room was nice with big windows - not large but enough space of me AND my bags - comfortable. The location is decent and just a block or so from the Flatiron Building and just a few blocks South of the Empire State Building. Easy access to everything I needed. What the hotel lacks in amenities it makes up for with an extremely helpful and friendly staff. Everyone made me feel welcomed and at home. A good price/value compared to many hotels in New York.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank LG268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

the hotel location is great and hotel rooms are very clean and cousy everything in the room runs electronic and even a television in the bathroom mirror and jets shower. the hotel stuf are young nice and very helpful. will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavrieltheangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#299 of 473 in New York City
706 reviews
The Evelyn
#278 of 473 in New York City
2,228 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#300 of 473 in New York City
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#376 of 473 in New York City
486 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#281 of 473 in New York City
247 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#170 of 473 in New York City
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $138 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing