We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise Noise Noise”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #382 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location and the rooms just great .The noise from the live music in the lobby was just overwhelmingly loud .So loud in fact , that it was difficult to check in on friday at 6 pm as I couldn't hear the receptionist yikes! the music lasted each night until closing time . I was thankful that our room was on the 6th floor and that I had brought my ear plugs .Other than that it was a great small hotel with nicely done rooms , very clean and a convenient location

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 805 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here in August of 2013. The hotel was in the best location! We were close to everything! The staff was so accommodating and just really nice. Each day they asked if we needed anything! The rooms were clean and had some cool amenities (TV in the mirror, remote controlled curtains, and fun showers). Loved the hotel. Seriously cannot say it enough.

Room Tip: Higher floors won't hear the live music in the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect if you are staying in Manhattan and want to be close to everything. Live music every single night of the week is really awesome and keeps you busy. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. They always try to help you to have a great stay and advise you on where to go around the city. Joe, with guest services, gave us a lot of great tips and told us where to go to have fun and enjoy our vacation. Khaili mamnoon (Thank you) Joe.
As far as the room goes, it was on the 10th floor with good views of our surroundings. Awesome 8 head shower, with a TV inside the mirror. Under the beds there was many drawers for our cloths in addition to the big closet in the room. The only problems we had with the room was first the curtains were extremely dirty and had huge stains on them. The stains were also on the pillows and the sheets. Other than that everything was fantastic and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the hotel March of 2012. It was just a a fun one night stay in the city to get out of the house, we live in Queens. Upon entering the hotel I have to say I loved the fish tank more than anything. And just the all around decor of the hotel is great. Don't think we got a chance to get a drink at the bar, and I just now found out about the outdoor area called "Toshi's Penthouse" which makes me want go back now. Loved the complimentary champagne and chocolates in our room, and also the t.v in the bathroom mirror. Don't really have any complaints, only dissapointment for me was that the jacuzzi/tub was way too small. Staff was professional and friendly, whenever we had a problem or question they seemed more than happy to help. Specifically Benz the night auditor, we had an absolute BLAST talking to him throughout the night. Extremely smart guy and very professional. I would definitely say he was the highlight of our stay, he gave us great tips on where to stay if we ever visit the Philippines! So all around I would say this is definitely a great place to stay whether its for fun or on business, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leesy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I want to really like this hotel, I really, really do. The front of the house staff are excellent and the crowd that gathers at Toshi's during the night seems fairly good spirited as far as New York people seem. However there were a few problems. 1) No room service 2) Forgot to clean the room (despite being requested) 3) You can hear the music from the bar all the way up to the penthouse suite.

Overall the hotel feels like a good deal for the money and the people working there are super friendly, the problem is it just didn't quite make for a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatitdothug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We appreciate you staying at the Flatiron Hotel and noticing great customer service the staff delivers however, the live entertainment from Toshi's Living Room cannot be heard past the fourth floor. We recommend early bird guests to request accommodations in the fourth floor or higher. In addition, housekeeping is very aware as to not serving a room with a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. We offer continental breakfast Monday thru Friday and have an onsite restaurant located at Toshi's Living Room. Our staff is highly knowledgeable as to other food alternatives customized to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in the hotel may of 2013 for a business trip. When walking in I was a little thrown off of how "club-like" it was (it kind of reminded me of a knock-off W.) I consider this 2 reviews

Part 1 (1 star):
My first room was rather dirty:
-door handle falling off
-wad of gum on the counter
-handprint on the head board
-dark stains on the chair
-(memory foam mattress) I am convinced due to a burn and turn/heavily accessed room
-if you are low (4th floor) it is loud

My friends tease me about being high maintenance but after I tried wiping things away, I was grossed out. I called the manager and she came up abruptly, apologized and said they would switch me to another room but they were booked for the night. They surprisingly didn't offer to re-clean the room. I went out and bought lysol wipes and wiped down everything.


The next night I was moved, up to a new floor (6) and it was a DRASTICALLY better room. It was clean, it was quiet, things were in place, the mattress was NOT memory foam. It was a really pleasant stay the additional days. The management was helpful, and the doorman was great. Definitely a 4 star experience.

However, now I am nervous to stay there again, because I am worried about what experience I will receive.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helvetica86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. Devin, the doorman, was always smiling. He made us feel right at home. Whenever we needed anything, it was delivered to our room immediately. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#288 of 471 in New York City
706 reviews
The Evelyn
#280 of 471 in New York City
2,205 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#296 of 471 in New York City
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#372 of 471 in New York City
485 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#197 of 471 in New York City
851 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#229 of 471 in New York City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing