We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small rooms, friendly staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #330 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“small rooms, friendly staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Queen bed room at this Hotel for three nights. The staff were very friendly. They accommodated our request for a room on a higher floor (so we could avoid the noise from the bar and entertainment that goes on every night till about 1:00 in the lobby). The location is great - very central. The bed was comfortable, room was clean, albeit small, even by NYC standards. Shower in the bathroom was great. The heating in our room was very inconsistent, the room would alternate between being cold and hot like a sauna. We never managed to get the thermostat regulated. But, all in all for the price and location, we can't really complain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, our guest service as well as the amenities in your room. I wish we would of known during your stay that the temperature was inconsistent. We could have addressed it during your stay so you would not have been inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    255
    102
    45
    40
See reviews for
172
189
38
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while in NYC on business. Overall, a nice hotel. I didn't much care for the "nightclub" on the first/second floor and I can imagine that if you were on the floor of sleeping rooms that are directly above the nightclub it could perhaps be loud. But, from my room on the 7th floor I couldn't hear a thing. The room was reasonably well appointed and I found the hotel to be a pretty good value. Location is within a 10 minute walk to Penn Station and I found a couple of nice restaurant and bar options within less than a 10 minute walk. The subway is reasonably close as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bus_traveler_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
The location of the Flatiron Hotel is central to the heart of Manhattan. There are so many great restaurants and bars within minutes. We always recommend our guests looking to turn in early to request a room in the higher levels because of the live entertainment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've just got back from 3 nights in New York, and I feel like a jammy git (British talk for smug) for finding this place!

The room was very nice with jet showers, TV in bathroom mirror, very comfortable bed, clean and well furnished. The hotel itself is also fantastic. The location was perfect, the staff were friendly and helpful. Every night in the hotel lobby and bar there is excellent live music and cocktails, set in a funky lounge environment - so nice in fact that I met several New Yorkers who chose to drink there rather than one of the many other bars in the city. I was also fortunate enough to get access to the penthouse which has amazing views of the Empire State Building. I'm really struggling to find fault in this hotel.

Don't stay here if you're old and boring - there's a slight hum of music from the bar in the rooms (certainly not enough to keep me awake though) I was on the third floor (the floor nearest the noise). My feelings are that if a hum of music from the bar keeps you awake, you've probably not done New York properly - this place ought to knock you out tired every night!

This is a must stay place for anyone looking to have fun and experience vibrant New York, in a vibrant hotel! Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank real_reviewer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Wow! We will continue to strive to make every guest as happy as you. Looking forward to your next visit from overseas with us...many thank you's for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of January. The service was great! The room -
super techy and fun! Comfy beds! There was a live band playing at the bar who were awesome! The food was so so, but the drinks were good :)

I would say the only problem here is the noise. We were on the 28th floor (I think) and still heard the band. Also, the delivery trucks make quite a ruckus during the late hours of the night and early mornings, and the windows are not the big chain hotel windows, so you hear all of it! Better not be a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fankindagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family rented a number of rooms of varying size over the weekend, and we were all happy the room, the amenities and the sleep quality. Our room had two beds and was of a generous size overlooking 26th - one floor above the well-documented noisy third floor. Although we could hear a faint background hum from the nightly entertainment, it was not disruptive. We felt lucky to have ample space to move around in our room, while others in our family had to leave their room just to change their mind - seems to be hit and miss for room size.

The location is pretty good, a few blocks of walking - or a short cab ride on cold February mornings - will put you in reach of good shopping and restaurants. The immediate neighbourhood seems to be in gentrification mode and is on its way up.

I could not give a full 5 star rating because our check-in was delayed well beyond the standard check-in time, due to housekeeping issues. A straight answer from the desk staff was difficult to obtain, and what started as a 10 minute delay turned into an hour of waiting with still no difinitive answer - and no room. The bell staff helped with storage of our luggage and with space on the mezzanine level to allow us to get sorted before our dinner reservation.

Room Tip: Due to the in-house club, rooms are quieter above the third floor. Larger rooms face south (26th) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bargain_hunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days a few weeks ago.
When we arrived it was early in the morning and our room wasn't ready. The front desk offered to check our bag for $1 (should have been free!). We returned at 330, nearly 7 hrs later and no room was available. A businessman was checking in at the same time and was also upset to hear that a room was not available so late in the afternoon when the hotel did not appear to be busy (we didn't see any other guests aside from this businessman during our stay).
The rooms are amazing, the cleaning staff do a wonderful job and are very friendly. The extras in the room (TV in bathroom mirror, amazing shower, automatic blinds, dimmer lights, etc) are all fantastic. Our only complaint with the room is that the draft coming in through the windows was unbelievable. My boyfriend froze each night. When the heat kicked on it was so powerful we felt like we were in a sauna. It would go from one extreme to another and made getting a good night's sleep near impossible.
Some of the reviews rant and rave about the staff at the front desk. I found them to be disinterested, distracted, and unprofessional. The front lobby is quite busy in the evenings and I found that the staff were more interested in socializing and caring for their bar clients than their hotel guests. One evening I had to phone down 4 times in a row before someone would answer in order to request a morning wake up call. Over 5 minutes of the phone ringing constantly and no one picked up.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay but probably would not return.

Room Tip: Request a room with a shower, the showers are amazing, as well as a room on a high floor to drown ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The first thing to point out about this hotel is that the staff - particularly front of house, were fantastic. Devon the Guest Services guy was superb and couldn't do enough to help us. Lets face it, we all know that it is the job of front of house staff to make you feel special - and that is how they make their tips. But, this is one of the first hotels that my wife and I have stayed at that the staff , seemed to want to help because they were proud of their hotel and their city, and that shone across. We couldn't be more complimentary about them all.

Rooms were clean. Our room was very small - but we got a deal on the room and that is why - you get what you pay for.

Music in the downstairs area was lively and fun. It finished by 12pm all nights bar Friday and Saturday, no music on Sundays. We read other reviews before we arrived and requested a room on the upper floors - duly granted. We also took earplugs in case we needed them and I popped them in on Saturday night (the noise was not excessive).

Location of the hotel was good - away from Times Square, but close enough to walk there in 10 mins. Subway stations within 2 or 3 blocks.

Altogether a briliant little hotel. Advice would be to look out for deals on this hotel - they do happen. If you are looking for a hotel with loads of facilities to relax and enjoy then this possibly isn't the best option. But, if you are looking for a place with superb customer care, and somewhere to use as a base and get out and see New York then this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#361 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
The Evelyn
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea West
Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea...
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing