We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi Tech in older setting”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #334 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Muscatine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hi Tech in older setting”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location was terrific, right in the middle of everything. Room a bit small but nice. TV in the bathroom mirror was fun as was trying to figure out the drapes. Staff was friendly and helpful. The bellboy gave some great tips and recommendations. We moved to another hotel because additional nights were a bit expensive for our budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Flatiron Hotel. We expect our staff to deliver a higher level of service which you received. Sorry to hear we were not in your budget for additional nights however we look forward to your return. Please feel free to contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    258
    105
    47
    40
See reviews for
174
193
38
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this place! I stayed with a friend for a four day girls weekend that we booked blind on hotwire without knowing the name of the hotel until we confirmed. Lucky for us because we really loved this place and may not have found it otherwise.

First of all, the location can't be beat- an easy walk to everywhere from Saks to Soho, subway only a block or two away, and only a short walk to Penn station. Ideal for us because we wanted to cover a lot of ground. Also good when you are planning to buy every pair of shoes in the city because you are never too far from the hotel to drop off your bags and keep going.

The rooms were very clean and modern. The shower was pretty amazing- plan an extra 30 minutes of shower time into your day because you will undoubtedly linger in that shower. The tv in the bathroom mirror is pretty neat, although I couldn't see above the tv because I'm so short and used the full length mirror in the bedroom instead.

The lobby is great at night- fun and energizing! They had great music during our stay and a pretty good stand up comedy night on Sunday. And the fish tank is fabulous, especially lit up at night.

The Flatiron staff are what distinguish this hotel from the rest. They are all very helpful, genuinely friendly, and surprisingly polished and professional for such a young team. The service from everyone was great, from check in to requesting extra blankets to reserving and printing tickets for events to restaurant suggestions. We particularly loved Devin! He sent us to a number of great restaurants and was always excited to hear all about it when we got back. I'm a real foodie, so I knew I was in good hands when we asked him where he thought we should go and his eyes lit up when he spoke of caipirinhas and Brazilian food. He took such great care of us and was so welcoming when we would return each day! Would have loved to pack him and the fish tank up to take home to PA but was limited to two carry on bags on the train.

I also felt very safe and comfortable here as well as in the surrounding neighborhood. As a young woman who typically travels alone and therefore has to be safety conscious, I would not hesitate to come back here to stay on my own.

Great stay, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefaniabella624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Wow, it sounds like you had an awesome time and that is exactly what we aim for at the Flatiron Hotel. As a fairly new luxury boutique hotel we pride ourselves in personalized service. It's always great to hear staff members passionate in their service. Devin is terrific and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Flatiron Hotel several times. My other stays were totally ok. Nothing great, nothing terrible. On the plus side, the staff has been pretty good. On the downside, some mistakes are made (e.g. last time, when I was leaving for the airport at 5am, the doorman directed me to the wrong towncar ... he put me in one ordered for someone else, while presumably that person got mine. Thing is I had double-checked the name with him and he just said, "yeah"). Anyway, before I got all the way to New Jersey we figured it out, and I managed to get to JFK in time for my flight.

So, back to this stay: the problem is that there's a loud two-story night club downstairs; and on the third floor, you are just above the ceiling of the club. The music plays til 1am... so if you need to go to sleep before that, you are screwed. You are stuck listening to music that isn't all that great, at volume.

I read a lot of tripadvisor reviews where people complain about noises, and i think they are just whiney. Let me assure you this is not just a little bit of noise - it's a full-on live band.

Really, they just shouldn't rent rooms on the third floor to people, unless the offered a specific "noisy room" rate. It's every night, and it's ridiculously unacceptable.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the third floor unless you will be out past 1am every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
I am sorry to hear about the mix up apparently our doorman are not scheduled in until 8 am. It was our houseman trying to be helpful. We have since implemented new procedures in assisting guest when the doorman are not available. We do have live entertainment six nights a week and if you give us another chance we will put you on a higher floor so the music will not effect your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Flatiron several times. The rooms are funky and comfortable. They are very tech oriented and sometimes hard to figure out how to turn the lights on or close the drapes. But they are stylish and comfortable. The first floor has a restaurant/club with live music every night. It's quite a scene. You can hear the music loudly if you are below the 5th floor so choose wisely. The bar is super-fun but not if you're in your room trying to sleep!

Room Tip: choose about the 5th floor so you don't feel like your room is in the middle of the dance floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSarahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stay in NY quite often and have been to many hotels, and the Flatiron really was not that great. It is very clean hotel, located in the heart of Manhattan, but other than that it was not at all special.

The rooms are small and poorly lit. The air handling system was SO noisy, it drove me nuts all night. There is no room service. THere is a bar/restaurant down in the lobby, but I didn't get the sense it was associated directly with the hotel. As most boutique hotels, there are very few services: no gym, etc.

The hotel staff were sweet, but not very experienced. They were not very skilled at making restaurant recommendations, nor providing directions.

This hotel was quite also quite pricey for what we received. Will most likely not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had high hopes for the Flatiron, based on reviews and initial impression. The decor is fresh and slightly funky, and the room had some fun features, such as the TV screen in the bathroom mirror. Unfortunately, the bed and pillows were very hard and there was no breakfast on site, not even a modest continental offering. This wouldn't have been so bad if there were options close by. Amazingly, there were no diners or restaurants serving breakfast in the vacainity, just a couple of pizza shops, etc, that sold limited breakfast sandwiches. Also, light sleepers might want to take note that there are live musical acts nightly on the hotel's main flooor.

Room Tip: If live music bothers you or keeps you awake, be sure to request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photobug4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

New York was our first stop in our U.S trip - and what a great hotel to start! Walking distance to attraction like Times Square etc without being in too busy an area - room was awesome!! A T.V . . .in the bathroom mirror!! And the bed was soo comfy! Room was spacious - great all-round hotel - would definitly stay here again!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#285 of 468 in New York City
2,116 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#359 of 468 in New York City
746 reviews
The Evelyn
#294 of 468 in New York City
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#408 of 468 in New York City
12 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,961 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing