We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option in the city”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #373 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the Flatiron on a deal from priceline. The rate was very good and the hotel is quite vibey in a lovely area. The room was tiny, but i guess most NYC rooms are. The bed is pretty small too but very very comfy. The hotel is quite new and has nice modern features like tv screen in the bathroom mirror, free wifi throughout the hotel, rain shower and electric curtains ect.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful and always offer to assist you when they see you in the lobby.
My main complaint was cleaning staff. The room was pretty clean however it was only cleaned late afternoon and the passages were vacuumed at 5pm in the afternoon. So forget about afternoon naps!

Room Tip: The bar in the hotel can be very noisy so request a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighdermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear leighdermick,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experiences. We're glad you found the bed comfortable and the room amenities enjoyable. Because of the shape of our building, there are variations in room size. Sorry you had a smaller one.

While I am glad you found the housekeeping team did a good job, I know the timing can be tricky. When you return, let us know your plans. We are happy to clean around your schedule!

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 799 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We got this hotel from Hotwire. We were a little surprised when we learned the bed would be a full-size mattress and not something bigger, but that's what you get when you gamble on a boutique hotel. Other reviews have complained about noise, but we were on the 5th floor and weren't really bothered by it much--you hear some car honks and the underground subway, but hey, it's the big city. The automated curtains were cool; there was a receiver tucked away in the room's desk so you could play music in surround sound; a closet unit to hang clothes in next to the fluffy bathrobes; expensive snacks, if you so choose; iron and ironing board; iHome clock; hairdryer; coffee pot; TV in the small shower room (no tub); another TV mounted above the desk, and an extra chair to sit in by the bed. The bed size ended up being not a problem after all. The shower had many water heads on it, so that was really cool. They do not have rollaways because the rooms are small, so if you have more than 2 people or have adult family members or friends of the opposite sex, be sure to see if they have a two bed option before booking. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again, as it's location was really convenient to a lot of touristy things to do around Broadway and Times Square. The subway is nearby, so it's easy to hop on and off of it if you get tired of walking so much. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: There is a variety of live entertainment almost every night, so ask for a room on a higher floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urchie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear urchie10,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. Your descriptions were very comprehensive, thank you. Our rainwater showers are very popular. With a larger shower head above and six (6) jets facing you, we get many positive comments. In addition to the room you stayed in, we have larger rooms featuring king sized beds. Our corner suite has two queen sized, a rarity in boutique hotels.

Look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was in a brilliant location about 30 minutes from times square. Our room was cleaned every day. The bar is loud at night but where we stayed on the 8th floor we could not hear a thing. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellomateyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear hellomateyboy,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. Others have commented about the cleanliness and I appreciate it. Our housekeeping team is very dedicated and it is nice to see them recognized. Yes, Times Square is very close, just 16 blocks (3/4 of a mile).

Look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a girls weekend in NYC and stayed at The Flatiron Hotel for two nights in the corner 'suite' / room. The decor is nice, modern and happy colors. The automated curtains didn't work so well, but we got a kick out of it when they opened and closed on their own. Our room faced B'way and 26th and we were on the 8th floor, although we heard the subway pretty clearly every time it went by! Reminds you that you are in NYC. I asked for a upper room after reading about the noise level of the restaurant / lounge in the lobby. Since we were there over Labor Day weekend the lounge was dead so I can't comment on the noise. The staff was friendly and helpful as much as NYC staff usually are when not staying at the Ritz! For the price, location and comfortable rooms it gets a solid thumbs up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear CharStan,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay but it seems there were a few hiccups along the way. Our apologies about the curtains. Occasionally the signal from one remote bleeds in to another. Our maintenance team is researching addressing. A “solid thumbs up” is high praise and we hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and i were pleasantly surprised at how nice this new hotel in New York City was. It is located on the corner of 26th and Broadway, which use to be a very sketchy area, but is now in transformation. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the bathroom has all of the updated amenities, such as a tv in the mirror, and multiple choices for your shower. There is a restaurant which has a small menu, but everything that we had was excellent! They have a happy hour with a good wine for $5.00, and entertainment starting at 6:00. I have never stayed anywhere in N.Y. which offered all of this, plus a staff that is extremely nice and helpful!!! Hope you enjoy your stray as much as we did!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room since the music continues until 1:00 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latitude2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear latitude2222,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. It sounds like we exceeded your expectations. This neighborhood is going through a terrific change right now. Two blocks south is Mario Bataly’s Eataly, an epicurean tourist attraction. One block east is Madison Square Park and Danny Meyer’s Shack Shake. To the west is the High Line Park in the Sky and Chelsea Piers. A few blocks northeast is the Empire State Building and to the northwest is Madison Square Garden. This is the place to be.

Very glad to read you enjoyed toshi’s Living Room in our lobby. It is a differentiator for our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words about the staff. They are our greatest asset.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Unfortunately, noise can be a problem in this hotel. The staff are very nice and helpful, but street noise from nighttime roadwork made it impossible to sleep. The rooms are clean, but New York sized (small). The bed is comfortable and the shower good, as other reviews have noted. The TV in the bathroom mirror may seem cool, but it makes the mirror a little hard to use for shorter people (for example, putting on makeup). As with many NYC hotels, the in-room services are bare: no room service, no movies on the TV. One isnt really expected to stay in the room I guess. But after a long day out in the city, it would be nice if one could at least order a drink up from the bar or watch a flick. Maybe the hotel could add some such services.

Room Tip: The higher up the room in NYC, generally the better. There is a club on the ground floor, but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Taninger,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. Please accept my apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. Construction noise is, unfortunately, difficult to control. Generally, the work is conducted early, but there are overnight projects as well. Your profile notes you are from New York, so I am probably stating the obvious.

We are expanding our hotel services and will be adding room service shortly. We are also expanding our fitness offering by giving our guests access to the Derek Jeter/24 Hour Fitness Center on the corner (complimentary), which will begin in October. Also next month, we will be offering valet parking as an option for our guests who drive here. I am sorry that we did not have these services in place for your visit.

I am you might give us another try once we have these new services in place.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and 3 of my girlfriends stayed in the corner Toshi suite. We really loved it. It's a smaller boutique hotel and the staff was super friendly. It's at a great location and is on the corner so ask for a higher floor for added quiet from the street. We had no problems with noise. There is a bar downstairs that has live music at night and serves food. We really enjoyed our stay there and were pleasently surprised because in NYC you really never know what you're gonna get until you are actually there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. It was gratifying to read about your experience. Our Toshi Corner Deluxe features two exposures (south & east) and two queen beds, which is not common in New York City. We are very fortunate to have a staff that is customer centric and we appreciate you acknowledging them as well. Please think of us again next time you and your friends are in our area.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#276 of 470 in New York City
707 reviews
The Evelyn
#282 of 470 in New York City
2,181 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#287 of 470 in New York City
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#303 of 470 in New York City
2,242 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#252 of 470 in New York City
440 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#236 of 470 in New York City
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $144 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing