We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #349 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Central New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed here Labor Day weekend (through a special from Travelzoo) and we were very satisfied with the hotel. The location was great (a block from Eataly), it is located on 26th street between 5th and 6th avenues. The lobby was beautiful, the rooms were pretty spacious for a little NY hotel. EVERYONE at the desk was nicer than nice. There were bands there every night and they were pretty loud but we were not affected at all and we were only on the third floor. Do not touch anything in the fridge or on top of it because there is a 20 second sensor and if you don't put things back you will get charged but we didn't move anything and had no problems. The air conditioner gets a little loud at night but that too was no big deal. I would definitely go back there, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear MarcyLS,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. It was gratifying to read about your experience. We will be sure to let the staff know about the positive impact they had. We appreciate the feedback about the HVAC unit. Our maintenance team will investigate and resolve.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    259
    106
    48
    42
See reviews for
175
195
40
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I read the mixed reviews on this website and I thought I would risk it by going, but I really should have listened because everything they said was right. The hotel is very noisy, not good for light sleepers. I was very specific about getting a room on a quiet floor and be sure to ask for it on the side that doesn't face the subway line. Toshi's "lounge" is extremely loud and there can be some horrid singers, so you don't want to hear that all night. The waitresses at the lounge were all too busy chatting with themselves and fixing their dresses instead of providing service, so I wouldn't bother going there.

The room itself was pretty decent after we finally got one. Apparently our original room had "frozen over" because someone left the AC on, so we had to get a different room.

If you go through Bookit.com and you're entitled to two free drinks, be careful to ask in advance. The concierge had no idea what we were talking about and I got some vague answer about them comping it at the end, which I had to argue for when the bill actually came. The concierge in general were all pretty lax and unprofessional.

I really wouldn't bother staying here, there are tons of better locations and better hotels to stay at.

Also, the CHARGE you to hold your bags. We had to pay twice when we were checking in and checking out to pay for our bags at $1 per bag. I've never had a hotel that needed to charge for holding the bags for 2 hours. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember01272015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear WTF_Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Your notes were very helpful (and detailed) and our department leaders are addressing them with their teams. Toshi’s Living Room is the hotel’s lounge and restaurant. We have live music and apologize that the singers were poor. Our director of entertainment vigilantly vets new acts to ensure the highest quality of entertainment. When we find someone who does not perform well, we make changes.

My apologies about the drink offer. That was an old promotion that had expired, but I agree that our staff could have probably handled it better. I was surprised to read that you did not find our location well situated. We generally receive very positive comments in this area.

You indicated you would stay somewhere else in the future. If you would reconsider, please contact me directly so I may oversee your stay.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Flatiron is an amazing hotel. The hotel and rooms are gorgeous. The staff went above and beyond in every way. They even googled and printed out a list of restaurants for us when we wanted to eat in Little Italy. I can't wait to come back to NYC just to stay here again. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayRenee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear TayRenee83,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers. Your words were appreciated and very flattering. Thank you. I can’t think of anything to add!

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights Labor Day weekend. The location was the best. We walked and walked!!! From Chinatown to Little Italy one day and to Central Park the next.

Every night we asked the front desk for ice and it came within 10 minutes! All the employees were friendly. Do not touch anything in the refrig or cookie/candy boxes or you will be charged!!!!

I room was clean and a nice size for NY standards! (Queen size bed room). They have live music every night which is loud, but really didn't bother us.

We would definately stay here again if the price is right!!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bdwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear bdwtravel,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers. Location, location, location! We are very fortunate to be so centrally located. Many of our guests have noted the convenience of what’s in the immediate area, ease of mass transportation and, as you experienced, so many things that are just a walk away. We appreciate the comments about the staff. We have a great team that is customer focused. We are launching a new website at the end of this month and we will have more packages and special offers listed.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Through the hotel is small in size, all the staff seemed to be friendly and helpful. We had a TOSHI suite in the front of hotel and you could here the street noise as well as every passing subway train.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear b c,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers. Yes, we are a smaller hotel having 65 rooms. We think that is advantageous as it allows us to provide a higher quality of service. You noted our staff’s friendliness and helpfulness (thank you). It is not often that guests hear the underground subway, but it does happen and we are sorry it adversely impacted your stay. Should you choose us again, please let me know so we can assign a higher floor.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We checked in on a Friday evening. Parking is about a 1/2 block away so you may want to drop your bags first and then park the car.

The staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful with all of our questions.

The room was cozy. There is not a lot of room for bags and bags of stuff. One of the most high tech bathrooms I have ever seen. In addition there were terrycloth robes to change into after a hot shower. My wife was in absolute heaven. Beds are comfortable and sheets a crisp and clean. Street noise was not a problem nor was noise from any other room. No hearing the flushing toilets of other rooms or listening to someone else taking a shower through the walls.

There is a variety of music most every night in the lobby. WE saw four bands the two nights we were there and we impressed with the talent. Originals to covers, jazz to rock, it was all great listening.

Drinks in the bar area about $12-15.

Overall an AWESOME property with a PHENOMENAL value!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing 26th St. as opposed to the avenue. On the 4-8 floors would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upstatejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear upstatejay,

Than you for choosing us and thanks as well for sharing your experience with others. Your comments about our staff is appreciate. We often hear how they make the difference in our guest's experience.

Toshi's Living Room, our restaurant, features live music six nights per week. We generally have two bands per night and I am glad you enjoyed them all.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Höxter, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed 5 nights from 30. of June until 05. of July in Flatiron. It was our third time in New York and our best hotel there. Friendly,helpful and well educated personnel at the desk. The whole hotel is spotlessy clean.The rooms are well equiped, bathrooms with screen inside the mirror (funny) and a very nice shower. Every evening you could find a good, varied program in the bar, sometimes with a real broadway show! The location is in the heart of Manhattan, walking distance to Herald Place, Macy´s, Madison Square, etc.. The next subway is not more than 2 minutes. Perfect place to start exploring.... We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Holger S,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. Our team works very hard to provide a great experience and I thank you for acknowledging them. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#292 of 467 in New York City
2,056 reviews
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
2,130 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#358 of 467 in New York City
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#405 of 467 in New York City
12 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#152 of 467 in New York City
3,024 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#84 of 467 in New York City
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing