We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flatiron Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$188
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$459
$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$409
$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$346
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$232
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$351
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$263
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveler rating
321
265
116
50
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
265
116
50
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom mirrorfront deskmadison square parknew yorkshake shackrain showerboutique hotelhigher floorcorner roomlobby bargreenwich villagelocation is greatbagelsthe empire state buildingfew blocksaround the cornerrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 809 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel is located in mid town area of Mahanttan and about a mile from Times Square. The location is fantastic as it is close to many restaurants (located in lexington ave) and shopping areas such as Macy which is half a mile from the hotel. This is a boutique hotel which has huge round shaped marine aquarium and a beautiful corridors.

The check in was not very smooth as we were in for shock when the reception staff told us they could not locate our booking which was done thru expedia even though we had the confirmation, and there are no rooms available at that time. After talking to expedia directly, the matter was finally resolved at the intervention of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Benjamin who informed us personally that we will will able to check in and our room will be upgraded to superior room. He also apologised for the delay which lasted for about Hour and half.

The room was in the sixth floor, corner of the buliding with full size windows on both sides which provided excellent view on both sides outside. It had hitech features such as mirror with lights and small TV screen in it in the bathroom, bath tub with Jacuzzi, button to open curtains near the bedside, electronic display button for do not disturb & for house keepin, etc. The mattresses and the pillows were fantastic and the lights in the room were excellent and much more than sufficient. As our flight was late in th evening, the hotel cocierge staff were glad to keep our luggage in the storage area. At the the time of check out, Mr, Benjamin, Hotel manger enquired about our stay at the hotel and informed that he is looking forward to welcome us at the hotel next time. One area of improvement is certainly the reception staff who I think should be more friendly and provide service with a smile. I will certainly stay here next time I visit New York.

Room Tip: The rooms near the corner of the building provide excellent views
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sekerdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Flatiron hotel was a fantastic place to stay in New York. The beautiful room on 10th floor was amazing (toshi suite). The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would love to stay there again and so would my family (husband + children (age 18 + 20)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solling2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We love visiting Manhattan, and were excited to find a reasonably priced hotel in Midtown. The Flatiron is relatively new, so some small quirks (room card didn't work at first,etc.) but the management and staff were responsive. Good morning coffee a block or two away at Stumptown or the Birch Cafe! We loved our corner suite, which worked fine for two adults and a quiet teenager. The lobby aquarium is pretty cool, too. Our only complaint was that the lobby lounge music is very noticeable at night when you're on the third floor. We'll be happy to go back to the Flatiron, but will reserve a room a little higher up. Not sure what this hotel wants to be, yet. Internet a little slow, so not business travel. No pool, so not good for young kids. Worked for us, though.

Room Tip: Rooms clean and pleasant, but reserve on a higher floor, if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isthmuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I first discovered The Flatiron Hotel through a deal on Living Social. Right away I loved it! The rooms - although on the small side - have amazing beds with fabulous bedding and pillows. The staff is friendly and helpful. The lobby bar just opened and they started serving Breakfast just today. I've been back 3 times and looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Susanm56,


Thank you for your repeat business. Its always great to hear that the promotional packages that we utilize bring in guests that allow us to provide a level of service that exceeds expectations. We are proud to be your home while you visit the city. Such positive feedback is always encouraging. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

If there is anything we can do for you or if you have any questions or suggestions, feel free to contact me anytime.

George Sallee
General Manager
The Flatiron Hotel
212 839-8000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Flatiron hotel is in the heart of the Flatiron district in NYC. The area itself is full of attractions to tourists such as Mario Batali's "Eataly," Jay-Z's "40/40 club", the Flatiron building itself, Teddy Roosevelt's birthplace and many more. The hotel is new and still in its opening phase, so there are a few hiccups here and there, but the overall experience FAR outweighs any negatives. The lobby is lovely with a huge unique saltwater aquarium surrounded by a transparent spiral staircase. There is live music at night with a great jazz ensemble. The room itself is wonderfully apportioned and the bathroom has a TV in the mirror. We had some difficulty using the Wi-Fi and had to be in certain places in the room to get it, but I'm sure that's a minor kink to be worked out. The thermostat settings were a bit touchy, so we found it better to leave it alone. There are those who complained about the subway noise - and while noticeable, I have to say my take was "Welcome to New York City." There's nothing they can do about that now.. and if anything, if you want to visit other parts of the city, you know that the subway is close by! You're in walking distance to Times Square (16 blocks - we did it with a 7 y/o) and a nice park around the corner. We found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. Overall, my family VERY MUCH enjoyed the stay and we would come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where Wi-Fi access is easy, and preferably higher up if subway noise bothers you.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear Darryn,


Thank you so much for staying with us at the Flatiron Hotel, we are always looking for feedback to ensure that we can do more to make our guests comfortable. I would like to thank you for the kind review and say we look forward to your next stay in New York. We are always working on ways to help guests be more informed on the technology in the rooms.

We are currently taking care of the information on the thermostats and wifi, we have taken the necessary measures to ensure these things do not affect yours or any other guests next stay with us.

Again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Best,

George L Sallee
General Manager
The Flatiron Hotel
212 830 8000 ext 2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews