We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Financial district”
Review of World Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
World Center Hotel
Ranked #108 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is new, minimal 4* rooms, small but very nice and clean. I was very surprised but no safe, fridge or mini bar in the room. The filtered water in the hall is a nice idea to save some plastic bottle. Reception very friendly, valet or self parking available expensive $$$ but this is NYC just beside the new World Center!
This is a good spot away from Time Square traffic, very close to metro line 1 (Rector St.). Busy during the day with a lot of visitors for the 9/11 memorial, quiet after hours (maybe too quiet?).
A few restaurants around, not a big choice, you need to walk... Have fun in NYC!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 989 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I first stayed here 2 years ago in a beautifully appointed modern room overlooking the 9/11 Memorial pools under construction. Second stay last spring before sailing off to Hamburg on Queen Mary 2 was even better. Our room with a view had an amazing balcony. First rate all around!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkmfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

They have a really nice facility! Everything was new and almost perfect. My favorite thing was the filtered water in the hall because New York water tastes pretty awful. The staff was nice, but responded poorly to our needs. We called several times for extra towels and didn't receive any until we went downstairs to complain. That was the only thing that I was really bothered by. And the suite was a little backwards... strange, but not a problem. It was a good experience overall!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I absolutely love this hotel and the staff. I make frequent business trips to the city and booked this hotel on a whim back in November of last year and haven't booked elsewhere since. I recommend it to all my friends and colleagues. The price is extremely affordable for the many amenities available, especially the kitchenette area. But most importantly, the view of the World Trade Center Memorial is just amazing. I was stunned and couldn't unglue myself from the window for quite a while.I look forward to my future stays and don't plan on booking anywhere else.
Oh and a huge thank you to the guest service manager Albert. He's been awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for the World Trade view upgrade if they have one. Also make parking arrangements or plans ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

What a great find! This hotel is tucked behind the massive lines to get into the World Trade Center Memorial. We visited NYC for the 5 Boro Bike Tour which starts and ends very near this location. I was very worried about checking into a hotel with my bike, however, when I got to the hotel, there were many bikers -- and the hotel staff was happy to store all the bikes even in all the chaos.

What struck me from the moment we stepped into the hotel was the amazing patience of the staff. The staff was all friendly and efficient even while the place was crawling with bikes in the (fairly small) lobby.

The rooms were also recently renovated and modern. We had a great view of the WTC building #4 (in process) and the general Manhattan skyline near Wall Street. I liked that there was a mini-fridge in the room to store some leftovers we had from dinner out. The beds were comfy. The bathroom was slightly small but clean and serviceable -- and showers were mighty hot which was appreciated after our 40-mile bike ride!

Nice perk was empty water bottles and chilled water dispenser on every floor.

The location is nice, near Battery Park and the aforementioned 911 Memorial. Maybe not the best restaurant locations nearby, but a couple of subway stations close -- and a relatively inexpensive cab ride to Midtown.

This was a well-priced option for NYC. I'd certainly stay here again -- especially as a base for exploring the Statue of Liberty as well is biking around town (it's also very close to the bike trails that line the perimeter of the Island.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzypinkbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the minute we walked into the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. Our room was very comfortable, clean and larger than most other places we've stayed in the city. Amazing views from the 20th floor of The Freedom Tower and 911 Memorial. Breakfast was pricey but delicious and the drinks at night on the terrace were great as well as the food. We celebrated our daughters birthday and the bartender made the night fun!! We definitely recommend this hotel based on location, cleanliness, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room. I upgraded and liked the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suezct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stay in NY quite regularly and this was a good experience. We checked in with no wait and our room was on the 5th floor. The room was a good size for NY and the view of the World Trade Center was unbeatable. We have a hunch that the view will be gone within the year, though, as something was being built right outside our window. Nothing to complain about in the room.

The entrance to the hotel is literally right next to the people in line to tour the World Trade Center site but it caused no issues. There are R and 1 subway stops nearby. For shopping, Century 21 is very close. This area doesn't have much nightlife - fyi.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Trade Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#109 of 473 in New York City
1,576 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#229 of 473 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#221 of 473 in New York City
1,555 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
480 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#69 of 473 in New York City
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Center Hotel

Address: 144 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006-1030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $136 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — World Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 169 rooms located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of what will become the United States' most famous landmark. In the heart of downtown Manhattan, nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca, Soho, Battery Park, South Street Seaport, Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining, shopping and entertainment. World Center Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.World Center Hotel provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your World Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing