We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable with friendly staff”
Review of World Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
World Center Hotel
Ranked #105 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable with friendly staff”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well priced and good location in the financial district. The room was a decent size although the shower's water pressure wasn't the best. It would have been handy to have a safe in the room though. Most of the staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizz786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    305
    67
    20
    23
See reviews for
213
311
76
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elbtal
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

reception stuff very smart and always looking that guests receive everything needed. Located in Financial District directly at 9/11 Memorial the Hotel was perfect for our Sightseeing Programm. Restaurant at 20 floor very nice with a pretty view in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudi20131002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in early October 2013. The standard-sized room was clean, bed was comfortable and linens were soft. Bottled water available on every floor was a really nice touch. The pillows were a bit squashy, so we asked for a couple of extra, along with an extra flat sheet (my husband gets too warm with a duvet), and they were brought up to the room within 15 minutes. Room service is available, as well as menus for local restaurants that deliver. We ordered breakfast from a local diner, and to be honest, it was pretty overpriced for what we got, but that wasn't unexpected for the area. There are also plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, especially up towards Tribeca. We were on a lower floor, but with the windows closed (as well as the very good blackout curtains), we had no problem with street noise. Water pressure was good - no shower cap, though! It's a silly little thing, but it did mean I had to run out and buy one before getting ready for dinner, so don't make my mistake, and be prepared! :) There are plenty of train lines within walking distance of the hotel, as well as city buses and the Staten Island Ferry (which is free, and gives a wonderful view of the skyline & Statue of Liberty).

On a personal note, as a person who was born and raised in NYC, I found a lot of the touristy bits around the ground zero site to be creepy and disturbing. This hasn't got anything to do with the hotel, really, other than the fact that it overlooks the site. I just think someone who might feel a bit sensitive about the tragedy might find all of the crass commercialisation a bit upsetting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

World Center Hotel.....great location, free WiFi, clean rooms, great amenities (laundromat, tea, coffee making), friendly helpful staff, close to subway etc. Very suitable for our 4 day stay. Fantastic view of 9/11 memorial

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is looking right over the 9/11 monument. The suite was beautiful and great amenities including a very comfortable pull out bed. My 15th floor window double doors open to a balcony that overlooks Ground Zero.BREATHTAKING. You can also go to the 20th floor to view from the restaurant/bar AMAZING CITY VIEWS.Great location.The staff Debra was very kind and more than accommodating. If ever in the NY I highly suggest!!!(Club Quarters same hotel)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AskMsShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I would stay here again. Loved the bottled water on every floor. Staff was very nice. I had friends staying at the W Hotel next door and we all agreed that our room at the World Center was way better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked a six night stay for a birthday present for my other half, I booked a city view room but got upgraded by the hotel to a suite, the hotel staff are friendly, rooms clean and the other little free things like wifi, loan an iPad , takeaway delivery service to your room,water and ice on most floors, I prefer downtown than midtown and this hotel is great,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#214 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Center Hotel

Property: World Center Hotel
Address: 144 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006-1030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#35 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — World Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 169 rooms located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of what will become the United States' most famous landmark. In the heart of downtown Manhattan, nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca, Soho, Battery Park, South Street Seaport, Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining, shopping and entertainment. World Center Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.World Center Hotel provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your World Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing