We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sort of ok, I guess” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of World Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
World Center Hotel
Ranked #77 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sort of ok, I guess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The bathrooms were nice but the rooms felt a little sterile. Maybe it was the lighting, maybe it was the furniture, but the rooms felt like ones you would get at a high-end drug rehab center. A rehab center for the stars, if you will. I think it was the "green" initiative that the hotel had going which created this vibe. I never thought I'd care about hotel room lighting, yet here I am. The ground zero contruction was not that bad and our window was practically pressed against it. The construction outside was soothing compared to the what sounded like Santa Claus getting a head start on some furniture making for next year in one of the nearby rooms. Every morning around 6:30am, bang, bang, bang, bang from within the hotel, not outside.

The housekeeping staff and folks in the restaurant were very pleasant.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    282
    62
    16
    20
See reviews for
194
287
69
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here over a weekend in early December. This property is directly against ground zero. Nice hotel, rooms are spacious and the decor is very Ikea like. It was about a 20 minute subway ride from times square area. When we checked in, our room was directly overlooking all the construction and it was VERY loud. We thought we would ask if there was a quieter room and were given another one right away. This time it faced the courtyard. It was very quiet but the trade off is no view of anything but a wall. That was fine with us. Area felt safe at night walking to and from the subway. Restaurant had a good view of the reflecting pools at ground zero, should be a fantastic view once it is all complete. The food was good and reasonably priced. Loved happy hour! My only complaint would be about the elevators...you can basically only access your floor and the restaurant and need your room key to do so. I realize that this is a security feature and think it's a great idea. The problem was that we had other parties staying on other floors and were unable to stop the elevator on their floors. Took us a day or so to figure out that the front desk could add those floors to your room card would have been nice if they had suggested it. For the price we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinmommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is a nice hotel...especially if you work in the Financial District and need to stay close. The hotel had okay customer service (not overly friendly, nor overly rude).

Found the rooms to be nice and spacious (although it looks as if my room was larger than the norm). Breakfast at the restaurant was good. Place does get loud because of WTC construction. It did quiet down though from about 9pm-6am.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSkiffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Very nice hotel. Cheaper than most of the other NYC with the same amenities, standards and location. i was there in June 2011. While the works were ongoing in the nearby WTC site, i couldn't hear anything. i Choose a room not overlooking the WTC site, so maybe this is why. i also was out during the day, and no works took place in the evening. now i think the works must be over.
loved the free fresh water distributer on each floor. Very nice rooms, clean and modern. Very close to the subway (1 block away, 5 mins walk), you should know that it is in the downtown /soho area in the most southern part of Manhattan, so it will be like a 15-20 minutes subway trip to times square (central manhattan). The area near the hotel is very nice, with lots of restaurants, snacks, bars, and full of other hotels. very close to wall street, the south ferry station where you can take the free ferry to staten island, and to the trinity church.

Room Tip: There is a Starbucks on the same street of the hotel ! :-) and the super mall "Century 21"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

You can search from one end of Manhattan to the other and not find a hotel with as much heart as this one! The staff is outstanding, extremely friendly, and rightfully proud of the work that they do. The hotel is in a superb location, right next to the 911 Memorial. The view from many of the rooms is a breathtaking skyline accentuated by the new Freedom Tower...gorgeous view! If you want something more tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of the busy city, they have rooms like that too.
Location, location, location...anything that is not within a brisk walking distance is a mere subway ride away. It is extremely well tended by the NYPD due to the 911 Memorial next door and therefore an extra safe place to stay.
Rooms are clean, tastefully decorated, comfy beds, fluffy pillows...very, very nice! What more could one ask for?

Room Tip: Water bottle refill stations are on every floor. What a savings that is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel is a new Hotel and is right next to Ground Zero. In fact our room looked over on to Ground Zero. Although there is a huge building site next to the hotel, we did not hear any noise and the building was going on in to the night (don't let this put you off). When we checked in we were given a letter offering a free drink during our stay. The bar is located on the 20th floor and is well worth a visit just for the view. Our room was spacious and clean with a kitchenette. We had breakfast up on the 20th and the food was excellent with a very good choice. The Hotel is in a good location for exploring Lower Manhattan. We spent 2 nights here after sending 2 nights at The W Hotel on Lexington Ave Midtown. The World Center Hotel is by far a better Hotel. I highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Pros: Hotel is very clean and Staff is very helpful. Rooms are very new, Rooftop Terrace restaurant has a super view on 9/11 Memorial. Price is very low for NYC standards. South Seaport TKTS locations is within walking distance. Several Subway stations are within a few blocks.

Cons: Hotel is so close to 9/11 Memorial/Ground Zero that the construction noise (24/7) can be very annoying (I have the idea that once the construction ends, prices per room will skyrocket...). Location is far from everything of interest in NYC, but as stated above subway stations are very close by...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malatestiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#23 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#53 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
#47 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#50 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#207 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Center Hotel

Property: World Center Hotel
Address: 144 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006-1030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#35 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — World Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 169 rooms located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of what will become the United States' most famous landmark. In the heart of downtown Manhattan, nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca, Soho, Battery Park, South Street Seaport, Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining, shopping and entertainment. World Center Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.World Center Hotel provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your World Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing