We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Ice Skating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Standard Grill

The Standard Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Standard Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #359 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Transit: A, C, E & L trains to 8th Avenue/14th Street.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food and Ice Skating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was here in December and there was a little ice skating rink outside the restaurant. The day we went wasn't crowded, so my younger cousins had plenty of time to skate and one even took a lesson. I skated around for 15 minutes - the ice had quite a few chunks taken out of it from the kids, but I'm no expert skater so it was fine for my purposes.

Brunch was delicious and the selection was fantastic. The kids had no trouble finding something they enjoyed and we adults enjoyed our adult beverages. As is common in NYC, it was on the expensive side, but it was such a great day that it was worth every penny. Plus, the portions were huge! I would go back again the next time I'm visiting NYC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoregirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    518
    187
    71
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Outdoor bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been to the outdoor bar of The Standard Grill, not actually the restaurant. For a summer night, it´s really great. The place is really charming, full of beautiful people, and the service is very friendly. Not many food options, but there´s some good appetizers and pizzas. Several options for wine and some for beer, all at good prices for NYC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polipatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“loved everything about the grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

nice people watching,
food is good (enough) but brasserie style. pricing is on the high side.
staff is very attentive.
will come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good place to eat, though the portions were extremely big for us Brits as we are not used to eating so much food. My wife and I shared the 'Delicious full roast chicken' with broccoli and potatoes in duck fat, very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and Very Popular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well positioned at the South end of the High-Line, this restaurant is popular amongst office workers during the day and new-day 'poshies' at night. We had a great experience with food served when we wanted it and to a very high standard. Daily specials are particularly worth following. Staff are very friendly although the table-booking team could probably do with less 'attitude' - I mean the restaurant is good but hardly Jean Georges. Value was good if the portions a little of the 'short' side for a guy who has some 'space' to fill !!
Get a table outside and you will be treated to see some of the best of 'the strangeness of New York'. Just fantastic. Wine list good and reasonably priced. Overall worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Standard Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing