We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You”
Review of Family In New York

Family In New York
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
New York Tour by Subway and Bus with Private Guide
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Private New York City Night Tour with Driver-Guide
More Info
$599.00*
and up
6-Hour New York City Tour with Driver-Guide and Separate Guide Option
Ranked #105 of 625 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private Tours by Public Transit or Vehicle; Evening Lights Tours; Layover Tours; and more. Please visit our website. Every tour itinerary is custom and personalized to meet the wants, needs and desires of our guests. We operate on our guests schedule and at their pace. In addition to our typical tours, we conduct tours for mobility impaired guests. We also conduct evening lights and skyline tours; sports tours; layover tours where we meet our guests at the hotel, airport, cruise terminal, train or bus station, load their luggage in our vehicle, tour them around New York City and then return them to their point of origin or another location. We have been in business for 10 years and continue to grow every year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Belgium
1 review
“Thank You”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We visited Big Apple with Family in NY on 19th July 2008. This was a great experience and we are really thankful for the perfect organization, the flexibility, the friendliness of our guide and the interest to her city and to us she evidenced during the whole tour. This has been very much appreciated and my son has enjoyed his birthday present, visiting NY as we have done it. I can only recommand such different way of touring a big city to all those who are interested in what they are visiting and want to enjoy their stay.

Family Mariscal from Belgium

Helpful?
Thank Bemaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CousinScott, Owner at Family In New York, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
You are welcome! Happy to hear you like our "different way" of touring the city. We believe New York is best appreciated by being experienced. See it; feel it; touch it and catch it - the best way to experience New York. Seems like you caught it and we are glad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    19
    4
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“STOP by the FAMILY IN NEW YORK site, DROP a reservation, ROLL with the fun because this tour is on fire!!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

A second cousin found me on ancestry.com and made arrangements to visit from out of state. Though I know enough about New York to visit and do what I need to do, I wasn't prepared to be a tour guide and we only had one day to see New York... I did load of web surfing and finally called a few tour companies. Scott was great. He spent time talking about our interests and joined forces to provide a customized tour for us. Two concerns were that we wanted to go at a relaxed pace and have time to get to know one another since the tour would be on the second day of her visit. Genealogy is a common interest but my cousin also wanted to see the sites. We had tickets to see Phantom in the evening so we had to fit in dinner and then the show... Our tour guide, Marc was superb. We made memories that we will talk about forever. It was all we could have asked for and far more. If you only have one day to spend in New York, this is the tour to take, if you have more than one day, start off here and you will see lots of stuff you will want to return to. I've been to New York many times on my own but Marc pointed out things I've walked past many times without noticing, told stories of past and present, gave us some really interesting options for lunch, and took the time to make suggestions for dinner and things to do between the end of our tour and dinner. There isn't enough space to include all the great things I'd like to say about them. It was a great pleasure to do business with them... they really are like having FAMILY IN NEW YORK!

Helpful?
Thank tourjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My family and I booked a Private Van Tour with Family In New York and had a great time, even in the cold rainy weather. Scott was very friendly, knowledgeable, and flexible with scheduling. Even though we hit overtime, there was no additional charge. He took us to all the places we wanted to go and more! He also had great recommendations for lunch (Il Fornaio) and dinner (Joe's Shanghai). I definitely recommend Family in New York to all visitors.

Helpful?
Thank AZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CousinScott, Owner at Family In New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Sorry about the weather, but happy you "loved" the tour. Also happy you loved the restaurant choices. Both theses restaurants offer great food at a reasonable price. Our family has been eating at both places for years. We are always happy to share our local favorites with our "family" from out-of-town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
“Would never go with anyone else-Cousin Scott is simply the best!”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We had the most wonderful time on our visit to New York-had a large group and Scott managed to take us everywhere we wanted to be and even took us to a nice small authentic Italian restaurant at lunch. Had used another tour company my first trip to New York city with some other friends and this trip beat them hands down. Could not have asked for any better information or treatment-simply the best! Thanks for a wonderful time!

Helpful?
Thank ebbysmomOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CousinScott, Owner at Family In New York, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Nice to know you liked the restaurant. Our family has been eating there for over 20 years! We love to share our favorite places in New York with our guests. In many cases, as with the restaurant, you won't find them in any guide books. Often times, these are the best places!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just like having a "Family In New York"!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We used the guide services of "Family In New York" on our first trip to NYC and opted for a full day service. Having never been to NYC before, the guided tour gave us the opportunity to see double the sites we could have ever seen on our own and got a personally narrated tour that you could never get from reading a guide or other material. Having an expert show us the ropes on using public transit especially the subway system saved us tons of time and a pile of money. Our guide even knew some of the staff at the sites we visited and this just enhanced the experience in a way we'd never have gotten on our own. We saw sites that most tourists would have glossed over or never found out the details of what they did see like our guide "Cousin Mark" gave us. We had one day without a guide and by far the day with Cousin Mark made us wish we had used him for both days of our visit. We felt we made a friend and he treated us like "Family" as did everyone at "Family In New York"!! We have video and pictures of the entire trip and Cousin Mark's narrative on the video is as good as any video you could buy anywhere and forever captures our NYC experience as no other way could have done. The cost might seem steep at first, but the value and personal service received will far exceed the reasonable cost and actually save you money you might otherwise spend on being lost in the transit system or spending more time in transit to a site. This personalized tour and NYC approved guide service is the way to see NYC not only the first time, but many times after. We felt safe and pampered the entire day we spent with Cousin Mark! I'd recommend "Family In New York" to anyone without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank WVTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CousinScott, Owner at Family In New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Thanks for your recommendation "without hesitation!" You mention that we are NYC "approved" sightseeing guides. This is important. Each of us is licensed by the NYC Dept. of Conusumer Affairs, and maintains a current license. Each passed the criminal background check. Each passed the city's 150 question exam on NYC history, geography, architecture, peoples, culture, institutions, etc. And, each of us loves our job, including the people from all over the world with whom we get to share our wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family In New York also viewed

 

Been to Family In New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing