We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really do have "Family In New York"!”
Review of Family In New York

Family In New York
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
New York Tour by Subway and Bus with Private Guide
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Private New York City Night Tour with Driver-Guide
More Info
$599.00*
and up
6-Hour New York City Tour with Driver-Guide and Separate Guide Option
Ranked #105 of 625 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private Tours by Public Transit or Vehicle; Evening Lights Tours; Layover Tours; and more. Please visit our website. Every tour itinerary is custom and personalized to meet the wants, needs and desires of our guests. We operate on our guests schedule and at their pace. In addition to our typical tours, we conduct tours for mobility impaired guests. We also conduct evening lights and skyline tours; sports tours; layover tours where we meet our guests at the hotel, airport, cruise terminal, train or bus station, load their luggage in our vehicle, tour them around New York City and then return them to their point of origin or another location. We have been in business for 10 years and continue to grow every year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We really do have "Family In New York"!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I booked a private five hour walking tour with Scott on our first day in New York. It was a fanastic way for us to get our bearings and see some of the sights with a 'pro' before spending the next four days in NY by ourselves!

Scott was easy to talk to and listened to where we wanted to go, it was great to just wander at steady pace and take a little bit longer to look at places we were interested in. There were even a few places that Scott took us to out of the way that we would have never have found ourselves!

Overall a very enjoyable day, would highly recommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank PurpleZoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    19
    4
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Myself and my wife recently visited New York and were there for two full days. So we booked the 9 hour tour guide in order to fit as much as possible into our visit on day one. Marcy was our tour guide. The day started by her meeting us at the hotel where we stayed. Marcy was an amazing person, someone you immediately feel at ease with and able to relate to. She initially finds all the things you wish to see on your tour and then decides the best route to take in order to see them. Very knowledgeable Marcy explained the history and background of the sights and was only to pleased to provide any advice we needed ie tickets for shows, places to eat etc. I would definitely recommend Family in New York to anyone visiting NY.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave620103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, LA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Two friends and I recently visited NYC for several days, and FINY helped to make that trip a truly memorable experience! I'm in a wheelchair, so there was a need for a few special accommodations, but FINY easily took that in stride. We had accessible transportation to and from the airport, with a helpful, articulate, and prompt driver. Our two days of tours were absolutely wonderful! Jared was our tour guide and he was unbelievably helpful, informative, and entertaining, so knowledgeable about the history of the places we visited that he made them come alive for us! It was a fantastic experience that we'll always remember!
Diane L

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most amazing tour of New York”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I took this tour with my nine year old son and the most delightful Marcella was our tour guide for the day tour and Scott for airport / Long Island trips. You wont meet two nicer people anywhere , absolutely delightful and make you feel so comfortable and as though you have known them for years. Marcella was only too happy to make our tour fit what we wanted to see and also accomodate us in adhoc shopping along the way.

I cannot recommend Family In New York more highly and i will definately use again when i return to New York. Scott thank you and Marcella from the bottom of our hearts .. Sharon and Josiah Australia.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ArafuraGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome service and a great value! You really feel like family.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a 7 hour layover at JFK which only left us with about 4 and a half hours when you factor in travel time from the airport and back and having to get back 1.5 hours before the next flight etc. We saw more of New York in those 4 hours than I had in 4 days on my last trip. Scott makes you feel comfortable with him right away and his knowledge of the history and tidbits are something you can't get on your own or with a travel book. The best thing about this is that you are a part of the process the entire time. You aren't being led around by a tour guide on their schedule. Being that your group are the only ones on the tour, it is easy to make deviations from your itinerary and Scott's knowledge of the streets and traffic patterns really comes in handy if you should run into a couple of unexpected parades as we did. I recommend having him take you to Katz's deli (When Harry Met Sally) to get a Pastrami Reuben. That sandwich is incredible. We are not folks of great wealth so if we spend three to four hundred dollars we really have to get our money's worth out of it and we did with Scott and then some. The vehicle was clean, comfortable, and secure. Our flight was early and Scott was already there waiting and even caught the terminal change that even surprised us. I highly recommend this service. We will do it again if we get the chance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family In New York also viewed

 

Been to Family In New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing