We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vegetarian Japanese food!”
Review of Soy and Sake - CLOSED

Soy and Sake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian Japanese food!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a real find in the West Village - a real vegetarian's heaven with a huge choice of sushi, noodles and curries! The Bento Boxes are incredible value and include a taste of everything. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Asian veggie, what a perfect idea!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the best vegie food I ever had, so tasty and varied, with all the spicy and exotic dishes from various asian cuisines. And all in veg version! Very good prices as well, we'll certainly go back to try the other dishes. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great menu”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have been here many times before and have not written a review yet so here goes. The service is always great, the accomodate you without a reservation even if you have a party larger than 4 people. Everything i've had here is great, nothing I wouldnt order again. They've raised the prices on their sushi, but its still delicious and worth every bite. My favorite, the Peking spareribs, I always find difficult to pass up. The Buffalo wings are equally good. Collard green rolls and lettuce wraps are also good. The peanut butter bomb on the dessert menu is a must try. I agree that the restaurant itself could use a little updating, but the food is well worth the trip back. Drinks arent bad, but not fabulous. Food is always delicious and consistent and the staff always helpful and attentive. I always look forward to going here at least once every few months. Its one of our go to places.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vego indulgence”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lots of great creative options - well priced and extensive menu. We went for lunch and loved it. Was a lot cheaper than some other vego restaurants in nyc we've eaten at. Nice service and 'mock' meat dishes were very tasty. Thumbs up for this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swalshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been fans of this place for years, eating here at least every other month. The food is consistently excellent, with a tremendous variety to accommodate every mood and taste. We have brought many non-veg friends and family here over the years and everyone has enjoyed it. Some of our favorite dishes include the Seitan skewers, Singapore mei fun, mango salad, and the many varieties of fish free sushi. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soy and Sake also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing