We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Ghostly Experience at Ripley's”

Ripley's Believe It or Not - Times Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.00*
and up
Ripley's Believe It or Not! Times Square
Ranked #136 of 1,077 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of New York City, Ripley's Believe It or Not! Times Square brings people of all ages face-to-face with the world's most unbelievable curiosities. With more than 500 hundred rare artifacts, astonishing relics, and thrilling interactive exhibits, this one-of-kind attraction welcomes visitors to experience the unusual and unexpected. Only in Ripley's New York will families rediscover wonder around every corner. Featuring countless original pieces and galleries, including the new "Little Apple" room and Manhattan's only Laser Race, as well as "Believe It or Not" special events year-round, Ripley's Times Square offers guests unforgettable experiences that can only be found in New York. The museum also hosts a variety of options for groups including field trips, birthday parties, and scouting expeditions.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Ghostly Experience at Ripley's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had the best time at Ripley's in New York. It was the night before our trip back to Arizona and we decided to visit Ripley's. Little did we know we would have the experience of a lifetime. While trying to take a photo of my two boys in front of an elephant exhibit near the entrance inside, a white flowing images scrolled back and forth quickly in front of my cell phone camera. I pulled the phone away and looked around and saw nothing. Put the camera (phone) back up to photo the boys and the image- flowing white mass scrolling back and forth returned in view. I pulled the phone down again and it disappeared. One last try and the image returned so I snapped a photo this time. I still have the photo and several Ripley's employees asked if I could forward the photo to them and they said they have never seen anything like it. Neither have I!!! I sent the photo to Ripley's official site and have not received a response back from them yet to tell me what they think it is. Definitely a spiritual something. Have fun here at Ripleys and be carfeful of the real shrunken heads, they are amazing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Intellect_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripleystimessquare, General Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not - Times Square, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of the strange and wonderful at our Odditorium! Would you be interested in sharing your picture? We'd love to see it. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    271
    220
    89
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very worth the time and money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

A really fun way to spend 2 hours with family and friends..and quite educational as well as entertaining

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fool me once.....shame on me...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Keep your money in your pocket!!! It's a tourist trap... They'll show you a few amazing things outside..but once you get inside... A totally different story!! You'll get more out of ripleys if you just buy the book... Just saying... A word to the wise...

Helpful?
1 Thank Habesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If you are not a student of the freakish, you may want to skip it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We'd always wondered what visiting a Ripley's location would be like, and this time around we had a NY Pass that gave us free entry. We had just visited Madame Tussauds next door (recommended) and figured we'd spend at least 30 minutes at Ripley's. We did expect to see strange but enticing things, and to be educated in obscure occurrences of nature. While we did get this, we found the place to be underwhelming and perhaps too finely focused on the specifics of the strangeties.

The first issue we had was with the layout. Rather than having larger rooms as in a museum, a lot of the exhibits were hung on walls or put on display next to walls along hallways. This made it more difficult to navigate when more people were around. The second issue was that each exhibit required the visitor to read what at times was somewhat small print, and lots of it, to get an understanding of what the exhibit was. Perhaps they need exhibits that could be more self explanatory or enticing without the need to read in-depth explanations. One of the more interesting items happened to be a couple of wax figures that looked good enough to be from Madame Tussauds next door.

There is also a small theater where old black and white films were being shown of Ripley's discoveries, similar to what you'd see in the TV series, and a walkway surrounded by a rotating cylinder full of lights that challenges the visitor to walk through it without losing your balance (quite difficult, as it was).

We were very happy to have seen this as part of a NY Pass. If we had specifically paid for admission, we would have felt defrauded. If you are pressed for time or money, and though it's entirely a different thing to see, visit Tussauds instead. If you are a student of the freakish, really enjoyed the TV show, and have time and patience to read the history behind most of the exhibits, then do visit Ripley's.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BallenitaAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripleystimessquare, General Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not - Times Square, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Ballenita Azul, Freakish is our specialty. Thanks for the review. -Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Walk slow and read!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lots of great exhibits, but make sure you take the time to walk slowly and read each description. Some of our group ran through the museum and were disappointed to reach the end so quickly, but for those of us that took time to read the history associated with each exhibit, it was well worth the time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LLautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripleystimessquare, General Manager at Ripley's Believe It or Not - Times Square, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Larry L, Thanks for the great review! I think you captured the secret to really enjoying the Odditorium. Some of our greatest treasures are hidden in the corners. -Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not - Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing