We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Harlem”
Review of La Sienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place in Harlem”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Husband & I just got back from 6 nights in NY, staying at La Sienna on W123rd ST. Our studio apartment was perfect for our needs. Roomy, quiet & close to the subway. Yvette was very welcoming and gave great advice about the neighbourhood. There are delis on both corners of the block where you can buy groceries. 125th St has great shopping, lots of places to pick up food to take home, and has subway stops to take you up or downtown.
The apartment comprised a separate bedroom, well-equipped kitchen and large bathroom. The AC was much appreciated as the temperature outside was around 44 degrees celsius when we were there. Comfortable bed, table & 2 chairs, tea, coffee, condiments and a bottle of wine in kitchen. Yvette has 2 lovely dogs. They are quiet and very well behaved. Yvette has them well in hand so if you don't like dogs just let her know and they will not be a bother.
If you want a taste of living in NY try a few days at La Sienna. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oskarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    42
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
86
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at La Sienna for three nights in July during a heatwave. Since my last visit two years ago, the guesthouse has installed window a/c units in all guest rooms (for a $10/night surcharge). While the bathrooms and kitchen remained hot, my small bedroom was quite comfortable as was the twin bed. The guesthouse is just four blocks to the A (express) and C (local) trains, so getting to Times Square takes just 10-15 minutes. As before, manager/owner Yvette was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen and bath were spotless, and the wi-fi worked well. The guests were a mix of Americans and internationals, all amiable and quiet. For better and worse, the Harlem neighborhood is rapidly being "gentrified": lots of renovation, condo conversions, and new retail and restaurant franchises. On the same block as La Sienna is the Loft (W Hotels) and a 24-hour deli. Bottom line, if you are looking for a safe, friendly, quiet, and economical place to stay while visiting NYC, you should stay at La Sienna. I know I will return again.

Room Tip: Older guests as well as those with mobility challenges may have difficulty with the staircases (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidMcTier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at La Sienna. Yvette welcomed us when we arrived and provided a lot of great information for us. When we first booked she suggested a subway pass and that is what we did. The subway at 125 was less than a 5 minute walk. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. It's located on a very quiet street. The air conditioner worked like magic! Very hot and sticky while we were there.
The price was outstanding for NYC and I would recommend the place to anyone who isn't concerned about having to take the subway 10 minutes to downtown. The location was perfect to get to Yankee Stadium, very short ride. I'm not a subway person, but I have to say NY system was quick and easy.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a long overdue thank you for our stay at La Sienna!

We had a nice stay at the studio facing the garden in April. The studio was great, well maintained and decorated. Our hosts were lovely, always ready to answer a question. The neighbourhood is up and coming, though we did stand out we never felt unsafe and the subway is only a block away.

We do recommend staying there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrnGrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is beautiful, it´s perfekt to stay in new york city. harlem is a great place and close by you find the subway. it´s just 7min downtown. if you like you can also walk to new york downtown. it´s around 1h through the central park.
the rooms are clean, very warm atmosphere and helpfull staff.
if I come back, this is my choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammelmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Siena for a week and we had a great time.The owners were very friendly. The bedroom/ sittingrom, bathroom and kitchen were very clean and cosy, the bed was good. After a long and tiring day downtown ,we were glad to be
back in our quiet street,away from the noise and the crowd.The metro station and busstops are nearby, and Central park is a ten minutes walk away.We certainly will come back to La Siena again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Augusta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was great to stay here for our trip in New York!
Great place for a great price!
The owners are very nice and helpful! I have read in some comments that there are too many rules... The only rules we received was to keep the front door closed and... have fun! :)
If we get the chance to go back in New-York, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Le studio du rez de chaussée est équipé d'une kitchenette et est très spacieux! Parfait pour un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osyatys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#227 of 467 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 467 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sienna

Property: La Sienna
Address: West 123rd Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 164 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are completely private with a share kitchen and bathroom. Room 5 has a private kitchenette. Studio 1 and 2 have private kitchen and bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sienna Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing