We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My birthday celebration”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Ranked #155 of 13,843 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Make it a day to remember. From birthdays and anniversaries to professional milestones, we aim to make every gathering special at The Capital Grille. Open seven days a week, The Capital Grille is best known for our expertly prepared steaks, which are dry aged in house for 18 to 24 days and then hand-cut by our restaurant's on-premise butcher. The Capital Grille's wine list features more than 350 selections, and its floor-to-ceiling wine kiosk regularly houses 3,500 - 5,000 bottles. Reservations are recommended but not required. For more information, please visit our website. We look forward to delighting you.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Great food and service. They will accommodate you with the preparation of a dish, for ex: I chose the sea bass which they prepare in a soup, I prefer it broiled, and that's what I got. Ambiance is nice , waiters were very professional. My family enjoyed their meal and drinks.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alice6549
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 387 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2016

My wife and I selected this restaurant for dinner before attending a show a few blocks away. The staff as a whole was professional, attentive and friendly. We were never rushed. Our waiter Josue could not have been more helpful, even inviting us to request him by name on future visits. We appreciated him sharing his knowledge of their extensive wine offerings. NYC Restaurant Week offerings were thoughtfully chosen and played to their strengths. My Kona encrusted strip steak was served as ordered a perfect medium rare. Desserts were also excellent, I enjoyed the flour less chocolate cake.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulbQ2473OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

There for a bday but also for restaurant week, fixed menu had good choices Filet, sea bass..Got oysters as a appetizer, small for price. Clam chowder and sweet corn soups, worth every penny. Liked Sam's mash and the green beans with heirloom tomatoes, main courses all good. They have a good selection of wines, too. Had the flourless chocolate cake for dessert, smooth as silk.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GWarner9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Cozy, luxurious, great food, great ambiance. Perfect for a date or to spend the time with family.. A must go

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank DeboraUdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We've eaten at the CG several times, but this was the first at this location. As expected the service was good as was the food.
The lobster/crab cake, and the lobster bisque apps were excellent.
Steaks were perfectly cooked and tender. Lobster was succulent.

My only complaint: we had a voucher for a free calamari appetizer, as a result of a poor experience in a previous dining experience (different location). They would not let us use it for anything other than the calamari, despite the fact that we couldn't eat the calamari. Some rule that says it can only be redeemed for that alone. Kinda crazy, since not everyone eats seafood, and since the reason we were given the voucher was a poor experience, you'd think they'd be a little flexible on using it, in order to make up for it. It's called customer satisfaction. Just feels very limiting and makes you feel like its a useless token gift, that they don't really care about making things up to you when things go wrong.

That said, this time we had a good experience. Just disappointing that we couldn't redeem our voucher.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank SockBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.