We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for dinner before the theater ”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Ranked #155 of 13,841 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Make it a day to remember. From birthdays and anniversaries to professional milestones, we aim to make every gathering special at The Capital Grille. Open seven days a week, The Capital Grille is best known for our expertly prepared steaks, which are dry aged in house for 18 to 24 days and then hand-cut by our restaurant's on-premise butcher. The Capital Grille's wine list features more than 350 selections, and its floor-to-ceiling wine kiosk regularly houses 3,500 - 5,000 bottles. Reservations are recommended but not required. For more information, please visit our website. We look forward to delighting you.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

If you want a place free from the tourists swarming a few blocks over, this is it. The pumpernickel bread was so delicious it was like having dessert first. Sweet corn soup was the best I've ever hard. A flaky crust on the sea bass made this meal one of the best we had in New York. Then we walked over to our show. A perfect evening.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank mohadoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 405 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

This location has a pre theatre dinner that is excellent and priced at $39 a person. It is offered 7 days a week before 7 pm. It consists of a choice of soup or salad, an 8 ounce filet mignon , Kona crusted dry aged sirloin, citrus glazed salmon or lamb rib chop for an entree. You can have mashed potato or baked and cream spinach or steamed spinach for sides and creme brûlée , flour less chocolate cake, trio of ice cream or seasonal sorbet for dessert. Beverages, tax and gratuities are extra.
I have been here many times and I have never been disappointed! The ambiance is lovely ( especially the private room for 12 people) and the waiters and waitresses always solicitous to please. This is a fabulous place to celebrate special occasions. For a birthday they dress up the table with confetti , put a hand written birthday or congratulations card on your table and bring out a special birthday plate ( in addition to the dessert you ordered) with a candle in it and a chocolate written happy birthday across the plate. I can't rave enough about this restaurant. It's always a pleasure to eat here and do business with their personnel.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 594skippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful table, super attentive waiter and of course, excellent food. Just a wonderful evening. Will definitely go back next time in NYC. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 360ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Capital Grille consistently delivers with a great drinks and wine menu and excellent food. We stopped by to refuel after shopping and sat near the window to people watch.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SeaLaVie_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

I really love the Capital Grille for its great drinks and the amazing bar food.
I recommend the Stoli Doli, which is their special, as well as the filet mignon sliders and the truffle fries. The drinks are consistently high quality, the bar staff are hilarious and take amazing care of you even when the bar is packed full on a weekday.
A must visit!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 770juliaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.