We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining Experience”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Within the hallowed walls of the Time-Life Building, and surrounded by some of the city’s most heralded attractions from Broadway to Radio City Music Hall, the imminent arrival of The Capital Grille is creating quite a stir of its own. Especially anticipated are our legendary dry-aged steaks, fresh seafood offerings, and a widely heralded collection of over 7,000 bottles of wine. All presented with unparalleled service in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that serves as a respite to the frenetic pace of the streets outside.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We dined here before going to a 7:30 play so ordered from the Prix Fixe menu. The number of choices for each course was quite extensive. There also was an option to add a lobster tail to any selection. Our meals were excellent and steaks prepared as requested. Our waiter knew our time commitment so served courses appropriately. He was vey attentive to us during the whole time we were there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allegany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    267
    97
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent steak but can't they afford to have proper lighting? ”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We ate as part of a function event so there was a set menu.

All of the dishes were well presented and very tasty.

My steak was excellent, cooked perfectly to my liking with a lovely sauce.

Service was reasonable.

My only criticism is that the whole restaurant is very poorly lit. Dim isn't an over exaggeration. Why?

Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank LuckyTim6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I cant say that this is the best steak Ive ever had but it is up there. A quality cut of meat cooked to perfection. Pricey but a good steak always is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Busy, pricey, average steak”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I went to Capital Grill based on the recommendation of the tour guide we got for our NY tour. We didn't have any reservation but were able to get a table after 30 minutes of waiting. I read the reviews here saying that the pre-theatre menu is not shown, and it still isn't. however, instead of getting that, my wife and I got the 18oz Kona bone in steak, and shared this between us. Since my wife doesn't eat much, the 18oz steak was good enough for us. We also got the truffle fries which was a good choice.

The steak itself was cooked to medium, which in my book is more like medium well. The steak was good for the price point, but is not buttery soft; which is most likely due to the medium well temperature. Best to start at medium rare and see if the tenderness is ok with you.

The place itself is classy, the wait staff are helpful but seem harried due to the sheer number of diners.

Best to get a reservation if you have plans to eat here. Its a pretty good place to experience New York steak.

Helpful?
Thank Reynold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Lake, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its a Capital Grille”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Pretty consistent if you've been to other Capital Grilles. Guaranteed to enjoy a fine meal and guaranteed to pay for it. You get what you pay for.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing