We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food, Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Within the hallowed walls of the Time-Life Building, and surrounded by some of the city’s most heralded attractions from Broadway to Radio City Music Hall, the imminent arrival of The Capital Grille is creating quite a stir of its own. Especially anticipated are our legendary dry-aged steaks, fresh seafood offerings, and a widely heralded collection of over 7,000 bottles of wine. All presented with unparalleled service in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that serves as a respite to the frenetic pace of the streets outside.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went one evening with our 7 and 11 children as recommended by our hotels concierge. The steaks, restaurant, service, menu, location where out of this world. The steaks where top quality, well cooked and presented. They tasted amazing as did the rest of the food we ordered. Go if you can

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexion480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    244
    93
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Steak as it should be......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I once again had the pleasure of dining at Capital Grill Steak House. The first time was in Las Vegas a few years ago. The 2nd was the other day in NYC. The atmosphere is sophisticated as expected, the service was impeccable and the food was delicious. The steaks were so flavorful I hated to leave the bone and few pieces behind. (We were heading to a Broadway show right after) We had the Delmonico steaks which is there signature steak, $49 bucks each.Well worth the money. This is one of the top steak houses in America in my opinion. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spoilednewyoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A sure bet for a business dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This a solid choice for a business dinner in the city. Consistently good food, and a nice atmosphere. The bar is pretty nice and they make solid drinks. I always get the filet which has never been overcooked, and the potato au gratin are AMAZING!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zandor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The food is always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I could live without the booze lockers when you walk into the place with name plates.
I sat in the bar this trip with some business associates. Our American Citizen server was excellent. More businesses in the food trade should hire Americans.

The server was attentive to our needs, got the order right(the first time), had our meals prepared exactly as requested.Our food was the proper temperature, everyone was served at the same time, the food was fresh and well seasoned. Meals to a man, were excellent.

If this review helps you please hit feedback button.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quietmanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“40th Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food and service were both excellent. The staff were very professional and friendly. We would recommend it to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustinCarol921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing