We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class, stylish restaurant..”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Within the hallowed walls of the Time-Life Building, and surrounded by some of the city’s most heralded attractions from Broadway to Radio City Music Hall, the imminent arrival of The Capital Grille is creating quite a stir of its own. Especially anticipated are our legendary dry-aged steaks, fresh seafood offerings, and a widely heralded collection of over 7,000 bottles of wine. All presented with unparalleled service in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that serves as a respite to the frenetic pace of the streets outside.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class, stylish restaurant..”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I can easily say first class , stylish restaurant in the heart of NYC.The food, service was great..the location lets you to go to the attractions, such as theater, concerts and your hotel.Reservation is very easy but difficult to find a table on high seasons, reservation before dinner was recommended.We really liked the food, excellent steaks and the service..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckorayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    265
    96
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Capital Grille was a great place to go before the theatre”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Capital Grille was a great place to go before we went to the Lion King. The food was excellent and the service was also very good. The menu had a lot to choose from. It was a typical steakhouse menu. The ambiance was nice. We enjoyed sitting upstairs and taking everything in as we ate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet dinner for two on 2/16/13”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have a Capital Grille in Chicago and had the same expectations as far as service and dinner quality goes, that we've had back home.

Oysters were fresh, lobster bisque was delicious...and steaks were excellent and cooked to our liking the first time out. Decided to try their lobster mac and cheese, and thought it was good, but over rated. As expected, long list of wines to choose from and something for everyone.

Dinner for two, with a glass of wine each and 18% tip came to $265.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLoftView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loud, annoying at first, but good”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Quite the institution - came here with work colleagues. Am not a fan of manic hustle, and it was a zoo at first, and waiting for a table. But when we sat down service was good, meat was excellent. Not cheap - 150+/head including tip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdbj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Meal - Good Food - Great Ambiance”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

One of the main reasons we chose the Capital Grille was because of the great choice that the menu gave you. We'd been looking at another restaurant with a view over Central Park to celebrate my wifes birthday, but for us the Capital Grille just had more dishes that appealed to us to choose from. The restaurant had put confetti on the table and brought us a complimentary glass of 'fizz' to help us celebrate the special occasion & this was a nice touch. Our waitress was really helpful & pleasant and happy to chat, which quite often in the big city isn't the case, but makes you feel like you're being looked after, rather than just another check. We were lucky enough to be there on restaurant week & the choice and value for money was fantastic. We had our own little booth, which helps make your meal feel that little bit more intimate and the room itself was really nice and whilst it was busy, there was plenty of space between tables. The Filet Mignon was really good & the Salmon couldn't be faulted. We would definitely recommend and will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Sue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing