We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet dinner for two on 2/16/13”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Within the hallowed walls of the Time-Life Building, and surrounded by some of the city’s most heralded attractions from Broadway to Radio City Music Hall, the imminent arrival of The Capital Grille is creating quite a stir of its own. Especially anticipated are our legendary dry-aged steaks, fresh seafood offerings, and a widely heralded collection of over 7,000 bottles of wine. All presented with unparalleled service in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that serves as a respite to the frenetic pace of the streets outside.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet dinner for two on 2/16/13”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have a Capital Grille in Chicago and had the same expectations as far as service and dinner quality goes, that we've had back home.

Oysters were fresh, lobster bisque was delicious...and steaks were excellent and cooked to our liking the first time out. Decided to try their lobster mac and cheese, and thought it was good, but over rated. As expected, long list of wines to choose from and something for everyone.

Dinner for two, with a glass of wine each and 18% tip came to $265.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLoftView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    260
    94
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loud, annoying at first, but good”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Quite the institution - came here with work colleagues. Am not a fan of manic hustle, and it was a zoo at first, and waiting for a table. But when we sat down service was good, meat was excellent. Not cheap - 150+/head including tip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdbj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Meal - Good Food - Great Ambiance”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

One of the main reasons we chose the Capital Grille was because of the great choice that the menu gave you. We'd been looking at another restaurant with a view over Central Park to celebrate my wifes birthday, but for us the Capital Grille just had more dishes that appealed to us to choose from. The restaurant had put confetti on the table and brought us a complimentary glass of 'fizz' to help us celebrate the special occasion & this was a nice touch. Our waitress was really helpful & pleasant and happy to chat, which quite often in the big city isn't the case, but makes you feel like you're being looked after, rather than just another check. We were lucky enough to be there on restaurant week & the choice and value for money was fantastic. We had our own little booth, which helps make your meal feel that little bit more intimate and the room itself was really nice and whilst it was busy, there was plenty of space between tables. The Filet Mignon was really good & the Salmon couldn't be faulted. We would definitely recommend and will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Sue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison
1 review
“Pre-theater dining!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a great spot for pre theater dinner! Great value and selection for $39! Edwards S our server was very attentive and made a great wine suggestion. Overall a wonderful experience. The place was really busy for a Thursday (1/31/13) evening but our server was great in getting us out to our show on time!! Will definitely suggest this location to others.
Robin S

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top Notch, Excellent Restaurant Week Dinner!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wow, did we luck out tonight with picking this place thanks to all of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and to top it all off we got it for Restaurant Week prices!!! The food was absolutely delicious and the service was great including bus staff which were so attentive the whole time. We both had filet mignon cooked perfectly and so juicy and tender. The New England clam chowder was one of the best I ever had - actual large pieces of clams in it and so creamy! My friends salad was just average and expected better at a place like this. The sides of mashed potatoes and creamed spinach were both great and we ordered one of our waitress's recommendations which was the macaroni & cheese w lobster - omg so good! Our desserts were both good - my flourless expresso chocolate cake and her homemade ice cream.

You can't go wrong here. Just know the regular menu is pricey so be prepared if not going during restaurant week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDDpiston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing