We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gabby O'Hara's

Gabby O'Hara's
Ranked #2,186 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Irish Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a very welcoming environment. The bartender and I believe his wife were so gracious and pleasant. They were very attentive, and provided excellent service. We wandered in for dinner. I had to try the cauliflower soup, as it sounded so good. It was truly excellent. It had great flavor and was very smooth. I would order it again. I had a burger cooked just right with fries. My daughter had the beef stew as it looked good on the table across from us. She really enjoyed it. It looked like homemade. I could see people becoming regulars at this place. It was warm and inviting. I wouldn't hesitate to bring children here, as there were plenty of booths away from the bar for them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ohtracey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent bar to get a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Gabby o haras is a nice place to get a drink. Its a typical irish ny bar, they have ample seating but usually it is for people who are eating not just drinking, the bar is small so it is usually crowded during happy hour. We have eaten here but the food is nothing special. waitstaff is courteaous and somewhat fast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guapo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I like it there. Food is good and prices are - well Manhattan style but not the highest. Bloody Mary very good. Crowded after work but friendly. Had the sheps pie and corned beef. Both very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremiahF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Level Contributor
294 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“It'll do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Could not get a seat on the first attempts. Did on the second. It's a standard Irish pub like you see every few blocks. Good fish and chips. Nothing terrible to report, nothing outstanding. If you want a pint and a quick meal, should be a safe bet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MangaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Grab a Bite in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Food is definitely basic pub fare, but is is tasty and well-priced. Friendly atmosphere and a good place to kick back for a bit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipperroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabby O'Hara's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gabby O'Hara's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing