We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Justin, Texas, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wow am I glad that the UN General Assembly was meeting and had all the reasonably priced hotel rooms booked! I loved the comfort and relaxation, took advantage of neighborhood food and the park across the street. Definitely will plan on staying again. Convenient to the subway, a mailbox drop, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: The room was amazingly quiet. Having the window seat in the front room was great. Loved what was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Two friends and myself, all from Virginia, came to the city to visit a high school friend. We stayed in Allie's room and it was perfect! Very clean, large enough for four, even though we had three. When we arrived, Earl stayed long enough to assist us getting settled in. The fridge was stocked perfectly for breakfast and snacks. Markets and the Subway were all convenient. Parking was affordable and it was very quiet. I will stay here again and again. Thank you to Marilyn and Earl for making our trip comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I took our 9 year old granddaughter to see NYC and it was not easy finding a place with an extra bed at a good price, then we found Allies. How delightful it was to walk into the room, so well appointed and clean, clean, clean. The best part for us was to see the well stocked fridge with all kinds of Good Quality breakfast food, enough to last the four days we were there. And, the easy access to the C and A lines, being just a block away was very convenient, as we took the subway to midtown every day. We cannot say enough good things about this place,,,we now have our "home" in the city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MosheN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is the perfect place for a quiet and comfortable yet well appointed room. It is close to the train. The train ride to midtown is not too long and you can get out right at Columbus Circle. I stayed in the upstairs Allie's Room and is was quite roomy! From the moment of the initial booking to my last moments - the service was superb! I highly recommend staying here when in Manhattan!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MakuhKovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed at Allie's twice in 2012. I found the Garden room and the large Allie Room comfortable, convince and affordable. The location is close to restaurants, subway, and entertainment. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend.

I will be there a couple of time in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ASmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent a week at Allie's. It was within walking distance of Jazz clubs and a short subway ride to the centre of NYC. Marilyn was very helpful with all requests. On the last day she retrieved the taxi driver who had my purse with my wallet and passport, left accidently with him. A life saver.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank egenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

While visiting New York in the summer, my family and I wanted to stay in a nice, quiet place away from the city's noise often found in major hotels. Allie's Inn B&B was the perfect place! The area was quiet, the room was very clean, nicely organized and decorated, we all slept very well in very comfortable beds and we could enjoy the comfort and flexibility of having our own breakfast (nice selection provided by the Inn) and light meals or snacks using our own kitchen. The experience was like having our own place in the city, we had everything! Marilyn Moulton, the Innkeeper and her staff were friendly and easily accessible via phone or emails answering all our questions (where can we park?) Moreover, I inadvertently left a personal item in the room and after noticing its absence at home a few weeks later, I contacted Marilyn and she promptly returned my email saying that she had found my item and I was so happy to receive it in the mail at my home a few days later! Now, that is a great service! This Inn is now my favorite place to stay in the NYC and I am already planning my next stay there during the holidays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#8 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
TriBeCa
The Canal Park Inn
The Canal Park Inn
#11 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
The Park Ave North
#20 of 74 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#3 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
East Village
East Village Hotel
East Village Hotel
#21 of 74 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 313 West 136th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to New York for business or pleasure you will find that Allie's Inn offers comfort, privacy and friendly hospitality in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. We welcome both business travelers and seasonal visitors for both short term and long term stays. A visitor will be provided the opportunity to enjoy the city with the convenience of home when staying in one of our lovely private apartments. Allie’s Inn is located just minutes away from Columbia University and City College campuses. City College is just a 5 minute walk and Columbia University is just a short train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing