We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quiet place to stay while visiting New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2012

While visiting New York in the summer, my family and I wanted to stay in a nice, quiet place away from the city's noise often found in major hotels. Allie's Inn B&B was the perfect place! The area was quiet, the room was very clean, nicely organized and decorated, we all slept very well in very comfortable beds and we could enjoy the comfort and flexibility of having our own breakfast (nice selection provided by the Inn) and light meals or snacks using our own kitchen. The experience was like having our own place in the city, we had everything! Marilyn Moulton, the Innkeeper and her staff were friendly and easily accessible via phone or emails answering all our questions (where can we park?) Moreover, I inadvertently left a personal item in the room and after noticing its absence at home a few weeks later, I contacted Marilyn and she promptly returned my email saying that she had found my item and I was so happy to receive it in the mail at my home a few days later! Now, that is a great service! This Inn is now my favorite place to stay in the NYC and I am already planning my next stay there during the holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at Allie's Inn in April, 2012. Our room was very modern and clean. The bed was comfortable and free wi fi was available. The room had a kitchenette and the inn keeper stocked the fridge with some breakfast items, so we didn't need to go out for breakfast. The inn is around the corner from the BC subway line. We will definitely stay at Allie's Inn again when we are in NYC. it was a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Allie's Inn was totally awesome for what we needed. We stayed in a large private room ("Allie's Room") with ensuite on the top floor (up two flights of stairs - didn't worry us, but might worry somebody who would prefer an elevator). The bed was huge and comfortable, the furnishings and decorations were simple and classy, and the room had absolutely everything we needed. Free internet, big TV, a daybed, a breakfast bar, oven, fridge -- you name it, it was there. The room even had a large closet for storing suitcases out of the way. The bathroom was clean and a good size - shower/bath was very roomy, which was great.

Marilyn, the innkeeper, had left delicious food in the fridge for our breakfast - fresh fruit salad, bread, milk, cereal - all sorts of things. The room was very quiet and we never heard a peep from anyone, including the people staying in the room next door! The area was fantastic. Quiet, gorgeous street, very close to two different subway stations, and near to convenience shops/pharmacy/IHOP, etc. Harlem was a beautiful area of New York. It's about 30 mins by subway into Manhattan/Times Square for all the tourist-type activities, but that didn't worry us. Riding the subway enabled us to feel quite independent and confident about getting around the city, and we never experienced any problems with any of the other commuters or trains.

Overall, Allie's Inn was remarkable and fantastic value for what we paid. We will definitely be staying here again. Marilyn was really lovely, and allowed us to keep our suitcases in the inn all day on the day that we left the city as well. I would recommend Allie's Inn to anybody who would like to stay at a "home away from home" and who doesn't need an innkeeper to hold their hand throughout their stay. There isn't a reception desk as such so you're on your own. We didn't need one at all - everything had already been thought of for us. Enjoy! It's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Super quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank painted_duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Our room was very comfortable with everything you need (especially electronic

devices and free wifi)
The keeper welcome was great, she filled our fridge with anything we could

need for breakfast.
The area is safe and very quiet.
We would definitely suggest it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Elle_2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sHs2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#11 of 78 in New York City
371 reviews
Upper Yorkville Suites
#35 of 78 in New York City
56 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#12 of 78 in New York City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
618 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
375 reviews
The Park Ave North
#17 of 78 in New York City
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 313 West 136th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $213 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to New York for business or pleasure you will find that Allie's Inn offers comfort, privacy and friendly hospitality in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. We welcome both business travelers and seasonal visitors for both short term and long term stays. A visitor will be provided the opportunity to enjoy the city with the convenience of home when staying in one of our lovely private apartments. Allie’s Inn is located just minutes away from Columbia University and City College campuses. City College is just a 5 minute walk and Columbia University is just a short train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing