We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly host, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chic&Budget New York
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly host, good value”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here for 6 days in early Nov last year. Once we reached the place, we were pleasantly surprised as Bert (the host) kindly gave us a free upgrade from a room with ensuite bathroom (which was what we requested for) to a one-room apartment, complete with kitchen, living room, dining table etc., as all his rooms were occupied. The apartment was very clean and well-kept, and the kitchen even has an assortment of utensils, cutlery and cooking spices for guests to use, as well as a huge fridge and oven. (On some nights, we saved money by buying back frozen lasagne and heating it up in the oven to eat in the very spacious living room).

Before leaving, Bert gave us a very detailed briefing about the subway system, recommended places to eat and showed us around the apartment, which is even better than what a hotel concierge would provide. He even provided us with a file of recommended bars/eateries/restaurants/places in manhattan to visit, which was really useful, and said we were welcome to call him anytime we had questions. We tried one of his recommended southern food restaurants, amy ruth's, and liked it so much we ate there a second time.

On the day we were due to check out, Bert very graciously let us occupy the apartment till 5 in the evening, so that we could take a final shower before heading to the airport. Seeing that we were bogged down with luggages, he was even kind enough to use his own car to fetch us to the nearby subway station even though he had guests to tend to. Overall, Bert was the personal touch in New York which we didn't expect :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firstmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    73
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
88
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good enough for one night, small rooms would have been a challenge for any longer. In all it was a funky nice place. Good decor close to eating and bars. I would probably go back as it was good for the price point.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The good news is this place looks exactly like it does in the photos. You won't be surprised when you walk in. The manager was excellent and friendly. He even drove us to Applebee's nearby knowing we had been traveling all day and were spent. We only slept and showered here...so I can't comment on spending time in the actual place but while we were there it was nice and quiet. Close enough to the airport (LGA) and to the bus/metro. For my sister and I (2 girls in our early 30's) it's all we needed for a fun Super Bowl weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was huge, much larger than a standard hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Rented 12-18 dec

On the 15th night, there was no heating and the caretaker didn't bring extra blanket as requested. We were told that the building had heating problem, which was solved. Unfortunately, the next night, heating failed again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBudget, Propietario at Chic&Budget New York, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear guest,

You stayed only 6 nights. On the 4th night the heating system was down for a couple of ours only and it was fixed by the next day. You mentioned that it was hot afterwards. We have provided additional blankets the next day. Other guest in the building never mention anything about the heating after it was fixed.
We regret that your comment is at least not accurate or you are referring to some other place you stayed previously.
Thanks anyway for having the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed in the 127th apartment. Great accommodation for a few days in the Big Apple. Room and facilities were clean and fairly quiet at night. Bert was really helpful, showing us where to go and very friendly. Takes about 20 - 30 minutes to get all the way down to Lower Manhattan and subway stops close by. Like some of the other reviewers we were a little worried about the area and at night it does feel a little more 'local' than staying down in midtown but nothing to worry about.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aliminsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staying at the 132nd St Apartment, the location did leave me a little apprehensive, given Harlem's reputation. My apprehension was only made worse by the cab driver warning me repeatedly NOT to venture outside after 10 O'clock at night. I have to say though, this turned out not to be the case, and the Harlem locals were friendly and warm. Bert greeted me on arrival, and his assistance and explanation of the subway system and how Manhattan worked was invaluable. The apartment was amazing...Well furnished, comfortable and warm, and at only a few minutes walk to the station, amazingly convenient. This was my first trip to New York, and with only 4 days up my sleeve, the convenience of the location, Bert's advice on how to get around and the very competitive price made this a perfect location, and I saw everything I wanted to see with ease. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in New York and doesn't want to pay for all the expensive bells & whistles a Hotel insists on charging you for. I'll definitely be back...Thanks Bert & Chic&Budget!!!!

Room Tip: Get your head around the Subway system, and you'll find it easy to avoid expensive cab fares.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed on the 127th apartment on July 27 to August 3rd and it was very good. Mr Bert is a nice and helpfull person. He explained us the way to use the subway, how to move in the city and additional places to visit. It is the second time I stayed with them and I really recommend them, their apartments are all renovated, clean, comfortable and price is affordable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#236 of 467 in New York City
705 reviews
Harlem
Harlem 144 Guest House
Harlem 144 Guest House
#51 of 77 in New York City
24 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Suites Manhattan
#59 of 163 in New York City
8 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#9 of 77 in New York City
52 reviews
Harlem
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 77 in New York City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic&Budget New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic&Budget New York

Property: Chic&Budget New York
Address: 127th ST, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic&Budget guesthouse & apartments offer budget private rooms & apartments in charming brown-stone houses. Guests are accomodated in espacious rooms (1 to 3 persons) with private bathroom most of them and apartments (1-5 people) in a combination of double/queen size beds and sofa-couches.Different properties:- Chic&Budget 131 Guest House- Chic&Budget 127 Guest House- Chic&Budget 131 Apartments- Chic&Budget 132 Apartment- Chic&Budget Madison Apartment- Chic&Budget Garden Loft Apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chic&Budget New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic&Budget New York Hotel New York City
Chic And Budget New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing