We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay with a low budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chic&Budget New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay with a low budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stay there in july and that was amazing! If you need a very nice and cheap place to stay you need to get there ! Rooms are clean, bathrooms are small but very convenient! I highly recommend this place !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalonde035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    73
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
88
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Chic & Budget 127 in December of 2011 but I neglected to write a review at that time. We found the location to be great! We learned very quickly that if you want to visit New York it is much more fun to stay outside of the "touristy" areas. The express train will get you to midtown or downtown in no time at all. Also - food is a lot cheaper uptown. Avoid eating at the tourist traps and eat at some of the awesome diners and restaurants in harlem and the upper west and east sides.

The bed was very comfortable and the apartment was pretty quiet even though it was shared with the other guests - I think we only saw them once? Be careful with the hot water: We were sharing the house with guests who loved to take hot showers in the morning. When it came our time to shower we only had cold water left. This made for a rather frustrating and enjoyable start to the day. Though, on the plus side, I supposed it woke us up!

Bert was very helpful and talkative and answered any questions we may have had. We had a good chat about Toronto (where we were coming from) and New York and he told us to call him if we had any further questions.

We did have a slight issue come up at the end of our stay but it was addressed promptly and with excellent customer service. It was because of how this was handled that we knew we would come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

excellent! The location is good and the price is decent! The landlord is a very nice and kind person. It is more like a home than a hostel, it was a surprise for all of us! We stayed in NYC for about 6 days, the location is good. There is a subway station 2 blocks away, you can take the metro to anywhere you want. Restaurants nearby are convenient, they have Wendy's and Pyepye there. Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place is beautiful and Bert is probably the nicest person in NYC :) Love that you get use of a full kitchen (and washer/dryer). This is great for breakfasts and late night snacks. Room was quite large. Typical small NYC bathroom. All very nice. My only complaints? You can hear other guests coming and going (door slams), lots of light comes in the windows at night (would really benefit from blinds or shades behind curtains - or heavy drapes), smells from other guests (hair spray, cigarettes) wafted through the bathroom vent. That being said, it is a really nice place with a good location - Starbucks, etc at 125th/Lenox. It does take a little extra time each day though since you have to travel to and from Harlem. This was really the big dealbreaker for me as everything I was doing in the city was in Midtown on the West side and resulted in several train changes each trip. Would I stay here again? Yes, but only if I couldn't find a nice place in midtown or if I planned on only visiting the Harlem or UES area. Oh - and there's free WiFi, which is awesome too! It really is a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellinMofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I too can't speak highly enough of Bert.

Great welcome as soon as we pulled up in Town Car out the front.

Had downstairs garden apartment and found it to be warm, clean and spacious with own private bathroom.

Kitchen facilities upstairs great of making toast and coffee - you could cook, but hey your in New York so explore!

Short walk to subway and plenty of local stores to buy milk and snacks.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwendaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chic & Budget Garden Apartment 127 for three nights this past weekend. Like the other reviews here have noted, Bert is absolutely great! He spent quite a bit of time talking to us at check in, explaining the subway system, recommending restaurants and attractions, etc. Likewise, when we checked out, we talked with him extensively about our trip and he even shared some accounts of his own travels. He was so kind and thoughtful, and even offered to give us a lift in the direction he was heading.

The quality of the apartment went above our expectations. It is a garden apartment, yet it is still above ground and there wasn't any issue with noise for us. The bedroom area is closest to the courtyard in the back so we were not right off the street at night. Features included hardwood flooring, two couches and a chair in the living area, a fireplace, sleek appliances in the kitchen, built in cabinetry in the bedroom area, recessed lighting, and two different tables for eating and/or trip planning.

Like other posters here have noted, the neighborhood takes getting used to at first, but some of the nicest people we met on the trip were here in Harlem. It is a very diverse area, and I’m glad we were able to explore it. However, some people who are not from or have visited a major city might be uncomfortable with the cosmetic details. (trash on streets at night, some unusual smells, a small amount of graffiti a couple streets over, police patrolling at night - all typical “city” occurrences)

Another perk of the location is the proximity to the subway- It’s only a 5 minute walk, not even, to the green line. Harlem/125th St is an express stop as well, so a trip downtown might take 10-15 minutes tops. There is a local convenience store by the subway which we went to for drinks and snacks. Yankee Stadium is maybe a 5 minute trip on the train, if that.

A tip for visitors booking Apt 127: Take the M60 bus from LaGuardia Airport. Only $2.25 and it drops you a block or two away from the building. Also, get on the M60 at the Harlem/125th St stop and head west for 10 minutes, get off around Colombia University and you can find “Tom’s Restaurant” from Seinfeld. Food was tasty and service fast.

My only (minor) complaint would be that there aren’t really any photos of our apartment on the main website. And it’s stunning! We will definitely come back to Chic & Budget on our next NYC visit. Skip over the cramped, overpriced, questionable hotels for this awesome find. It truly felt like home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasha920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Bert was incredible. Knowledgeable, charming, kind and very accomodating. I stayed here and thought the location superb, so close to the subway and then on the express downtown route too. There is a huge supermarket nearby as well as most other things you might need! All in all, I couldnt fault this - excelelnt value for NYC, great location, so professional to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#362 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#8 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 75 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#2 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Harlem
The International Cozy Inn
The International Cozy Inn
#27 of 75 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic&Budget New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic&Budget New York

Property: Chic&Budget New York
Address: 127th ST, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic&Budget guesthouse & apartments offer budget private rooms & apartments in charming brown-stone houses. Guests are accomodated in espacious rooms (1 to 3 persons) with private bathroom most of them and apartments (1-5 people) in a combination of double/queen size beds and sofa-couches.Different properties:- Chic&Budget 131 Guest House- Chic&Budget 127 Guest House- Chic&Budget 131 Apartments- Chic&Budget 132 Apartment- Chic&Budget Madison Apartment- Chic&Budget Garden Loft Apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chic&Budget New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Budget New York
Chic&Budget New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing